KingMidget's Ramblings

Pull up a chair. Let's talk.

I Am Not Alone


I’m pretty certain that I agree with every single word of this piece about Stephen King and Doctor Sleep.  Seriously, it’s as though Alexander Adams was in my head when he wrote this.  Oooh, wouldn’t that make a good, scary story.  Of course, if King were to get ahold of it, it would turn into a massive battle between the forces of good and evil, with a child with magical powers assisted by an old guy with magical powers, and ultimately, it would all come down to a spider in a subterranean lair.  As Adams says, King lost his way when he needed to identify magical and/or supernatural forces behind the evil that his characters face.  When it was simply evil, well, that’s what was scary.

* * * * *

In other news, as I just posted on Facebook, I have books and literary journals all over the place but nothing to read.  In comments, give me the top three or top five books you’ve ever read.  The books you would want on that fabled deserted island.  I need something compelling, real, intense and fantastic.

10 responses to “I Am Not Alone

  1. tjtherien October 24, 2013 at 7:18 pm

    Frank Herbert’s Dune
    Tolkien’s Lord of the Rings Trilogy
    Dostoyevsky’s The Idiot
    Turgenev’s Father and Sons
    Cervantes Don Quixote
    the complete works of Shakespeare

    • kingmidget October 24, 2013 at 7:21 pm

      Read Dune numerous times (one of my favorite), read Lord of the Rings numerous times (one of my favorite). Have not read any of the others. I’ll look into them. That said, I simply cannot go the Shakespeare route.

      • tjtherien October 24, 2013 at 7:30 pm

        I don’t fault you… not many of us read Shakespeare without the threat of the schoolmistress’ ruler across our knuckles… lol

    • kingmidget October 24, 2013 at 7:28 pm

      Through the wonders of non-copyrighted work and the Kindle, I now have The Idiot and Father and Sons on my Kindle. Thanks for the recommendations.

  2. sknicholls October 24, 2013 at 9:00 pm

    Yes Tolkien, absolutely.
    I am a big John Grisham fan: particularly “Pelican Brief”, “The Testament”, “A Time to Kill” , any of them really. He has a new one out “Sycamore Row” which I have not read yet.
    Best for last: Anne Rice…anything. I was not fond of vampires until I read her books. I am most fond, though, of her Mayfair Legacy trilogy, “The Witching Hour”, “Lasher” and “Taltos”. She is a master of description, a deep thinker, and can take ancient creatures, create a unique space for them within our society, and make them into fantastically human and contemporary beings with a world of profound words. That trilogy was one of the most compelling that I have ever read, and resulted in me being introduced to her vampires. Now I have hardcover copy of every book she has ever written. Her werewolves are her newest venture. They sound as if she is approaching a theoretical concept of the homosexual’s plight. I haven’t heard that, but it is sort of what I am reading into what I am hearing about this series. (And her only living child is gay).

    • kingmidget October 25, 2013 at 7:19 am

      I went through a Grisham phase, read about the first four or five books he published. Thought A Time to Kill was incredible. Eventually I grew tired of him. I applaud him for expanding beyond one genre, but I just haven’t been able to get back into him. I think I tried one of Anne Rice’s books way back when and wasn’t that into it. Maybe it’s time to give Grisham a re-try and actually try Rice. Thanks for the recommendations.

      • sknicholls October 25, 2013 at 7:30 am

        With Rice. I would start with The Witching Hour. Rowan is an amazing character. There is one passage in Lasher where Mr. Ashler, a billionaire and a direct descendant of the picts, is standing in his penthouse at Rockefeller Plaza looking out the window and thinking of how capitalism has overrun the once dominate Church, as he watches the snow fall onto the rooftop of St. Peter’s cathedral 30 stories below.

        It is that sort of writing that held my attention. It made me think, and I like that.

  3. Carrie Rubin October 25, 2013 at 7:20 am

    I liked ‘Doctor Sleep’ though I agree, it wasn’t scary. But I’m also far more pragmatic and unshakable now than when I was 14 and reading ‘The Shining,’ so I didn’t really expect chills. I haven’t read much of King’s later work, so I suppose I haven’t had the chance to become more jaded.

    As far as a book recommendation, ‘A Fine Balance’ by Rohinton Mistry is probably my favorite book, or at least ranks in the top 5. http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/140003065X?ie=UTF8&tag=httpwwwgoodco-20&linkCode=as2&camp=1789&creative=9325&creativeASIN=140003065X&SubscriptionId=1MGPYB6YW3HWK55XCGG2 The setting is India, and there is plenty of hopelessness and despair, but it is beautifully written. For a book to have 60,000+ ratings on Goodreads and still have an overall rank of 4.32 stars, it must be good (those reviewers on Goodreads can be tough!)

    • kingmidget October 25, 2013 at 7:23 am

      60,000 Ratings?!!?!?!?!?!?! Can I just have 60,000 readers?
      Thanks for the recommendation.
      I think I need to let Mr. King alone now. I’ve hammered him enough.
      Interesting that your memory of The Shining is when you were 14 — that’s mine as well.

Leave a Reply

