KingMidget's Ramblings

Pull up a chair. Let's talk.

How Do I Answer?


A good friend just finished reading One Night in Bridgeport.  He is not the first to comment that he could see it being made into a movie.  He is, however, the first to offer to buy the screenplay rights to the story.  He asked me how much.

10 responses to “How Do I Answer?

  1. Help Me Help Holly ♥ October 15, 2013 at 8:08 pm

    Wow congratulations! 😀 I have no idea how you would begin to put a price on it though sorry. Maybe seek advice from people who deal with such things?

    • kingmidget October 15, 2013 at 8:18 pm

      I know. We talked a bit more about it and it may be more of a profit sharing arrangement with me getting an advance. Or something like that. But even then, OK, what should the advance be? Just kind of flabbergasted by the offer.

  2. sknicholls October 15, 2013 at 10:19 pm

    That’s terrific! What a compliment! A sharing of a percent of movie profits if it goes that far might work. I talked with my daughter’s fiance’s brother who makes indie films locally about the possibility of doing something like that together. The costs and logistics were way over my head, but he says there are more campaigns than just Kickstarter for supporting something like that. I won’t hold my breath. We are talking years down the road. I’m still trying to figure out how to get an audiobook made. Good luck with that. I’ll have to read that one, too.

  3. Jade Reyner October 16, 2013 at 1:47 am

    What a huge compliment – you must be thrilled. Congratulations. I have no idea on the answer to your question though! 🙂

  4. Charles Yallowitz October 16, 2013 at 4:44 am

    Congrats. Personally, I would try for the profit sharing. That way if the movie is a big success, you can get a financial benefit from it.

    • kingmidget October 16, 2013 at 6:32 am

      What I’ve considered is a small advance ($5,000-10,000) with a profit sharing agreement with him getting more than me (60-40, 70-30?) since selling a script takes a lot more than the actual writing of it.

      • Charles Yallowitz October 16, 2013 at 3:32 pm

        Would the addition of cast and crew cut into that profit sharing? Decent advance though. About the same amount for a first time publishing deal from what I’ve read in the past.

  5. Bastet October 17, 2013 at 8:15 am

    Right on! Congratulations…the advance with profit sharing seems the best idea. I’ve heard of writers just out right selling their rights away only to be very sorry about that later.

  6. Sahm King October 17, 2013 at 1:01 pm

    If he’s willing to purchase the rights…I wouldn’t sell’em. I mean…if it could really be made into a movie?

Leave a Reply

