KingMidget's Ramblings

Pull up a chair. Let's talk.

Ten Years


Rumor has it that I’ll be featured over at The Literary Syndicate next week.  In conjunction with that, I’ve been asked to write a guest post.  I have a draft of a post that I may submit, but I’m not sure about it yet.

Here’s the thing though.  In the writing of that guest post, I realized something.  This month marks the tenth anniversary of when I became a writer.  It was ten years ago that I had this monumental, just absolutely incredible, brainstorm.  It led to One Night in Bridgeport, which led to so many more stories.  Over 50 that I have written since then and so many more that nudge me at all hours of the day.   I can safely state that there are more than 50 to come in the next ten years.

So, happy tenth anniversary to me.  I wish there was some way that I could acknowledge this in style, acknowledging all of those who have helped and supported me along the way.  That may, however, be impossible.  I’d forget somebody.  Leave somebody unmentioned.  I dare not risk trying to name everybody who has been there for me over the past ten years.

All I know is that without their encouragement, I probably would have stopped this many moons ago.  With their encouragement, however, I have continued on.  Finding new stories, new ways to tell those stories, and constantly striving to write something that is better than the last something.  That’s why I write — because I’m constantly searching for that moment and that story when the words come together in perfect union to say something I didn’t know existed until the words joined.  Haven’t got there yet.  On some level, I hope I never do.

 

10 responses to “Ten Years

  1. Vince Dickinson October 14, 2013 at 9:27 pm

    Just think what you’ll do in the next fifty years!

  2. sknicholls October 14, 2013 at 10:05 pm

    Happy Anniversary! I am sure there will be many such moments and stories for you. Ten years since that first book. Wow! You are quite well seasoned. I wrote my only book a year and a half ago, and it has been published now for just over six months . Seems like an eternity though. I would like to move forward with the next project, but, 1) It just has not gelled for me yet (lots of ideas but nothing solid that screams at me passionately), and 2) I can’t let go of this baby’s hand. I will be looking forward to your feature week at The Syndicate. 🙂 Peace 🙂

  3. Bastet October 14, 2013 at 11:27 pm

    Congratulations and many happy triumphs for the next 10 years!

  4. Patrick W. O'Bryon October 15, 2013 at 8:08 am

    Why not use this post as your guest post? Beautifully expressed, the reasons for doing what you are doing so well.

  5. runningtoherdreams October 15, 2013 at 9:51 am

    Congratulations on 10 years of writing! 🙂

  6. justmoo33 October 17, 2013 at 10:58 am

    Hey! that’s great news. Good timing for that brilliant review of Weed Therapy 🙂

Leave a Reply

