KingMidget's Ramblings

Pull up a chair. Let's talk.

Where I Beat a Dead Horse


Now that I’ve learned that UK Amazon has reviews that don’t cross-pollinate over at US Amazon, I check there regularly.  While the number of Bridgeport reviews on the UK site hasn’t increased since the last time I mentioned this, I got my first Weed Therapy review at the UK site.  One that isn’t also posted on the US site.  Here it is, courtesy of Ammiewyn

Wow!

When I first picked up this book I had no idea what to expect and the title does little to give it away – which is a really good thing. I loved this from start to finish – the Author’s style is exceptional and the way that the book includes both the past and the present but so neatly intertwined, amazed me throughout.

The story covers Kelvin Rockwell who is discontent with his life and goes to a remote village in Mexico in search of the answers. The author takes you through every stage of his journey and the emotions that are brought out, and the lessons that are learned are so true to life and so relevant to so many of us out there. By the time I had finished reading, not only did I feel enlightened, but I also felt enriched. It is like your own personal therapy book but with a beautiful story with truly believable characters and a brilliant writing style.

I don’t care if this is your genre or not – just read it!

What is frustrating about this is that I now officially have ten reviews on Amazon — the magic number for EReaderNewsToday.  They are all four and five star reviews, so I meet the threshold of an average rating of at least four stars.  But, I’m still stuck on nine on the official site, because one of those is only on the UK site.

What is exciting about this review is that it is by somebody who, as far as I know, I don’t know and who doesn’t follow my blog.  (So, Ammiewyn, if I’m wrong about that, let me know in comments.)  Yet, it is remarkably similar to many of the other reviews and comments I’m getting.

Weed Therapy is a story I wrote in a manner unlike any other story I had written up to that point.  I had some things I wanted to get across.  A point I wanted to make.  (Yes, Beaver, even I might occasionally write a story where I want to make a point.)  What I’ve loved hearing is how people have read the story, enjoyed it, and then talked about it with their friends and loved ones.  My sister, her husband and a friend talked about it one night.  Others have told me that it has made them stop and consider things, or that they have spent days discussing the story with their spouses.  Never did I imagine that I might write a story that could produce such results.

I hope, if you’ve read it, you have found something in it to help you find some answers.

20 responses to “Where I Beat a Dead Horse

  1. Help Me Help Holly ♥ October 13, 2013 at 7:29 pm

    I get your frustration. I think that the reviews should link on both sites. I managed to get enough to submit When Stars Collide to e news reader and they featured it yesterday (Yay!) I’ve sold around 220 books since then and got a new, really amazing review 🙂 Really happy with that. Hope you get another one soon so can get on there again, Weed Therapy is just the kind of book they would love I’m sure and which would sell extremely well 🙂 And thanks AGAIN for letting us know about that site!

    • kingmidget October 13, 2013 at 7:31 pm

      I’m thrilled you got When Stars Collide featured. It’s well worth it and you deserve much more success. I’m just waiting for that one review. Waiting. Waiting. Wating. 😉
      My only regret is that EReaderNewsToday won’t feature you unless you drop your price to .99.

  2. Charles Yallowitz October 13, 2013 at 7:30 pm

    I’ve run into that a few times. It does get frustrating, but I look at it this way. A positive review is a positive review and will help bring in more readers who might post a review on the US site. Congrats on the review.

    • kingmidget October 13, 2013 at 7:32 pm

      Completely agree that any good review is a good review and i was thrilled to read it. I just wish I understood why Amazon keeps the sites segregated the way they do.

      • Charles Yallowitz October 13, 2013 at 7:35 pm

        Wish I knew. They do a lot of things that I don’t understand. One thing they did on my first book was change the review quotes and they took one of the most ridiculous parts of a negative review. Must be a system instead of living being.

      • kingmidget October 13, 2013 at 7:38 pm

        Here’s what I don’t understand. EReaderNewsToday is linked to KDP and Amazon. I’m not sure what the connection is, but there’s a connection. They won’t feature your e-book unless you give it away or price it at .99 or lower. Aren’t they hurting their own business by forcing self-publishers to free or .99? Shouldn’t they be promoting us at higher prices so they earn more? This is my biggest pet peeve about Amazon at the moment.

      • Charles Yallowitz October 13, 2013 at 8:19 pm

        I think eReaderNewsToday is an Amazon affiliate. I know a few more sites like this. They connect to Amazon for promotion, but it seems to be at no risk to Amazon itself. It might just be a fancy title to get attention to them. As far as Amazon is concerned, the books are being sold and getting attention. After all, the money to eReaderNewsToday comes from the author’s cut. Though, I do agree that eReaderNewsToday should probably try to make more or at least make the review amount easier to achieve. The 4.0 overall is what gets me because it can be easily skewed by even one negative review.

  3. sknicholls October 13, 2013 at 7:40 pm

    You know, this doesn’t make your # 10 yet, but I am sure that will happen soon. I am joyfully amazed that you have found an international audience. It is a start. We are impatient as hell…all of us. I have 14 reviews on Amazon and all 4-5s, but I don’t even believe my book is capable of touching an international audience. It is far to regional a production. I applaud you 🙂

    • kingmidget October 13, 2013 at 7:44 pm

      Thanks. If you haven’t already, you should submit your book to EReaderNewsToday. It will mean dropping the price to .99, but you’ll likely get far more purchases than you’d expect. It will push your book up the rankings and get you more reviews.

      • sknicholls October 13, 2013 at 7:48 pm

        I was thinking about it as I read this post. It sounds like they would require a long notification to feature you. I was wondering if I could arrange it around Read Tuesday on December 10th to have my book at 99 cents for that week. Perhaps by then my fn paperback will be ready (a real sore spot with me today).

      • kingmidget October 13, 2013 at 7:59 pm

        I’m not sure about trying to arrange it for a particular date. When I submitted Bridgeport to them, I heard back a couple of weeks later and they told me the date I would be featured. Two other people I know have been featured. It took them longer, and follow-up emails, but as far as I know the date is selected by the site.

      • sknicholls October 13, 2013 at 8:02 pm

        That’s good to know. I am not in KDP Select, so I don’t have the promo options that Select offers. It is the craziest thing, but when I drop my price on Amazon, they give me crap when I try to raise it back up again. I have to plead with them and prove that it is not offered higher anywhere else. They “investigate” and get back to me like a week later.

      • kingmidget October 13, 2013 at 8:18 pm

        I changed my price on Amazon once without a corresponding change on Smashwords. They sent me an email pretty damn quickly. I ended up dropping the book (Bridgeport) from Smashwords since nobody was buying it there anyway.

      • kingmidget October 13, 2013 at 8:00 pm

        And I’m sure if you’ve been reading my blog the past few months, you know that ereadernewstoday was the single biggest cause of the sales I’ve had for Bridgeport. Yes, at .99, which drives me crazy, but better to have 1,000 sales at .99 over a three or four month period, than hardly any at 2.99 or 4.99.

      • sknicholls October 13, 2013 at 8:04 pm

        I need the push right now, especially with the paperback coming. It might be worth the hassle with Amazon to give it a try.

  4. prayingforoneday October 14, 2013 at 1:56 am

    Just to change direction..
    Here in Scotland I smoke Cannabis (same thing) for my pain..

    Cheers

    • kingmidget October 14, 2013 at 6:18 am

      No worries. The title of Weed Therapy is likely to create confusion for plenty of people. I wonder if that’s one reason the novel isn’t selling.

      • prayingforoneday October 14, 2013 at 7:55 am

        I am sorry again, I read a blog called the exact same thing and it was to do with “Weed Therapy” for disabled people like myself..

        Really sorry mate.

  5. prayingforoneday October 14, 2013 at 2:05 am

    OMG PLEASE FORGET THAT LAST COMMENT..
    I am so sorry, I am a Fibro sufferer, I should have read more.. REALLY Sorry

Leave a Reply

