KingMidget's Ramblings

Pull up a chair. Let's talk.

I’d Like to Thank the Academy


No, actually, I’d like to thank my fellow bloggers and writers who have written some pretty incredible reviews of Weed Therapy and those other bloggers who are re-blogging the reviews to get the word out.  I really appreciate it.  I’d like to name names, but I’m afraid of forgetting somebody.  So, all I can say is, “Thank you.”  You know who you are.  There’s a nut I need to crack with this book and I haven’t figured it out.  How to find the audience for it. The reviews and the re-blogs are helping to keep me fighting to figure it out.

Between exchanges with bloggers and people in my day-to-day live, I have heard a number of stories lately about how the book has become a discussion point for the people who are reading it.  I never thought a book I wrote could be that and it thrills me to no end that people are finding meaning in it.  Now if only I could figure out how to expand the audience of people reading it and thinking about it and discussing it.

11 responses to “I’d Like to Thank the Academy

  1. sknicholls October 10, 2013 at 10:48 pm

    I am right there with you. I thought about joining the fifty book clubs in town just long enough to drop my title in the hat they draw titles out of. I also thought about going to all of the libraries in town and sticking one of my promotional bookmarks inside of every history book or ethnic/cultural book in the library. Don’t think either of those would really be ethical. I did recently research and change my subgenre (one of the two allowed) and my keywords (to Amazon’s “required” search keywords…which I didn’t even know were required until I researched it). I have sold more in the last two weeks than I had in the last two months. I am happy about that. For example: I didn’t know that you had to put “20th century” (or whatever century) if you selected Historical Fiction as a genre. Who woulda thunk?

  2. Carrie Rubin October 11, 2013 at 9:01 am

    Weed Therapy is ripe for discussion. It’d be a great book-club choice. Have you found a home for it in any local bookstores? They might be able to spread the word and get it into book clubs around your area.

    • kingmidget October 11, 2013 at 9:05 am

      I’m pretty disappointed with local book stores at the moment. Maybe I should send it to Oprah?

      • Carrie Rubin October 11, 2013 at 9:10 am

        Hey, now there’s a thought…

        Both of my sons’ schools’ book clubs chose my book to discuss. I didn’t even know they had done so until they asked me if I could come and join the discussion. It was so nice of them to choose it. Is your son’s school (the one who’s still at home) aware you wrote a book? I sold copies of mine at my son’s school book fair and gave 75% of profits to the school. As a result, I didn’t made much, but it was a good way to get the word out. Just a thought.

  3. Kathy October 11, 2013 at 9:26 am

    I agree. Weed Therapy is ripe for discussion. It hits a chord with everyone.

Leave a Reply

