KingMidget's Ramblings

Pull up a chair. Let's talk.

One Thing I Think We Can All Agree On


Getting old SUCKS!!!

I spent my teenager years in bowling alleys.  Bowling, bowling, and bowling some more.  One of my best memories from that time was going to the lanes at Mather AFB and renting a lane for an hour.  I could bowl ten games in an hour back then, with the last game just as good as the first.  I was never great, but I got to the point where I consistently averaged 175-180, frequently topping 200 in individual games.  In my early 20s, I stopped bowling regularly and my visits to the ol’ bowling alley have been sporadic since.  The interesting thing is that I still can get pretty close to the same scores I did all those years ago.

A while back, Guest Blogger and I started bowling every once in a while.  Maybe about once a month.  10:00 a.m. on Sundays, followed by burgers or pizza.  Always good times with Guest Blogger.

Then I was diagnosed with carpal tunnel syndrome and that activity ground to a halt.  Until this morning.  It was time to hit the lanes again.  Guest Blogger and I.  Five games later I realized I’m getting old.

Two games in I was struggling.  First game was somewhere in the 160s, second game was low 140s.  My ability to convert spares was saving me, but I absolutely could not find the pocket for strikes.  What I realized, my acceptance of age, was this.  We more advanced bowlers typically have hooks, the ball spins off our hands, rolls out there, catches and then hooks into the pins, scattering them.  Hopefully.  There are plenty of different ways to do this, but ever since my teens, my preferred line was an inside line.  Standing more towards the center of the approach, I not only needed wrist strength to create the necessary spin for the ball to go out and then hook back in, I also needed strength to direct the ball out.  Think of it this way — strength to spin and strength to direct.  I simply could not do it consistently this morning, rarely hitting the line I needed to bring the ball back into the pocket.

What I’ve seen though is the older guys rarely, if ever, try the inside line.  Instead, they are stationed more to the right of the approach and they flip the ball out and let it hook in on its own — rather than trying to direct the ball out wide to then come back in.  They use an outside line that requires less wrist strength.

After the second game today, I moved outside.  We played three more games.  The first was in the 170s and the second and third were both in the low 200s.  I have conceded to age.  I no longer have a young man’s strength in my wrist.  It’s time to join the old guys and just flip the ball out on the outside line and let it do its thing.

Old age sucks but we all have to make accommodations to it eventually.

12 responses to “One Thing I Think We Can All Agree On

  1. Charles Yallowitz September 1, 2013 at 6:21 pm

    Carpal tunnel sucks. I had a scare about it 2 years ago, but it was a sprain. I think it’s a definite boogieman for writers.

    • kingmidget September 1, 2013 at 7:50 pm

      I started to have numbness and tingling in both hands. Oddly enough, it was most noticeable while reading on my Kindle. Never had a problem if reading a regular paperback. I got the CT diagnosis — worse in the right wrist. Eventually, I got a steroid shot in my right wrist — maybe about 4-6 months ago. Things have improved significantly since then, although I still have weakness in both and the tingling is coming back ever so slightly. It will be interesting to see what today’s bowling will do to it.

  2. tjtherien September 1, 2013 at 6:29 pm

    My thing was pool, specifically snooker, luckily a game that age doesn’t effect too much until the trembles set in and eyesight fades… but I can relate to the adjustments you’ve had to make for bowling, for me its when I’m doing anything physical. My body just doesn’t work the same, I’ve had to change my mechanics for a good many things I do

    • kingmidget September 1, 2013 at 7:48 pm

      Yes. I’ve given up most yard work at a ridiculously young age for two reasons. First, I just don’t want to do it anymore. Second, because far too many parts of my body hurt when I’m done with some of the most basic chores.

  3. Theryn September 2, 2013 at 12:47 pm

    Kinda ironic you posted this on the day a 64-year-old woman swims from Cuba to Florida (110 miles, 53 hours).

    (iow, you’re too young to be complaining about being old.)

    • kingmidget September 2, 2013 at 12:49 pm

      Thank you for putting me in my place. There are times when I feel like I still a young man that has taken over the body of an old man. It’s amazing some times how many things can hurt at the same time.

  4. Pdubyah September 7, 2013 at 8:33 pm

    What you forget about “getting old” was that you now have it on your power to rent the lane for 2 or 3 or more hours 🙂 plus you get to exaggerate your previous prowess, claim old war wounds as ruining your action and then delightfully say that winning isn’t everything.

  5. Pdubyah September 7, 2013 at 8:33 pm

    Plus what are you like 90 all of a sudden?

  6. Pingback: I’m Back… And I’m Bringing ‘Doctor Sleep’ With Me | The Write Transition

Leave a Reply

