KingMidget's Ramblings

Pull up a chair. Let's talk.

What I Learned This Weekend, Part Two


I’m working on Deviation, really working hard on it.  I’ve carried on with the fundamental rule with respect to how I write this story.  Every couple hundred words, I select a random word from the dictionary that I need to use in the next couple hundred words.  The story now exceeds 11,000 words and I’ve used somewhere in the neighborhood of 60-70 random words.   As I mentioned in my last post, this method brings along some surprises.  One of the words today was “tinkling.”  In my mind it evoked the sound of a piano.  At first it was going to be a recording played on the stereo.  Then it turned into a woman visiting the brother’s father in most unacceptable circumstances.  And, finally, the tinkling piano was being played by a barely dressed hooker, with three of her friends, there to serve the brother’s father while their mother is in jail.  Until I got that word I never knew their dad would have a visitor, let alone four hookers.

6 responses to “What I Learned This Weekend, Part Two

  1. Pingback: 500 followers! Thank you! (and a Holly pic just for you Misha Burnett :-) ) | Help me - help Holly

  2. Help Me Help Holly ♥ August 26, 2013 at 3:03 pm

    That’s crazy funny how it changed the story! Tinkling makes me think of the sound someone makes going to the toilet! 😀

  3. Anonymous August 26, 2013 at 10:49 pm

    I like the random element of the words allowing the story to grow in unexpected directions.

Leave a Reply

