KingMidget's Ramblings

Pull up a chair. Let's talk.

Wow … and I mean Wow


I buy books for my kids as gifts.  It’s just that thing I do.  On my way home Thursday, I bought a couple for my son to take with him as he journeys off to college.  Of course, I bought myself a book, too.  Jonathan Tropper’s One Last Thing Before I Go.  I’m virtually certain I read about this on a blog or somewhere in the last couple of weeks and thought it was a book I should read.  Wish I could remember where I read about it so I could go back there and say a gigantic THANK YOU.

I started reading it in the final moments of our car trip down to Long Beach.  After dinner I read some more.  It became one of those books I simply could not put down.  I just finished it.  I cried and laughed — sometimes while on the same page.  Just an incredible staggering book.

What’s it about?  Miserable man who has ruined his life through his monumental ability to fuck everything up.  In the week before his ex-wife is to re-marry, he learns his 18-year-old daughter is pregnant, the summer before she is supposed to head to Princeton.  And that he had a heart defect that will kill him, probably any day.  I don’t want to ruin too much of the story, but the jacket blurb says this, so I can, too — he decides not to have the surgery that will save his life.  Why?  Because he has no interest in living the life he has left since his divorce.

When he makes the decision not to have the surgery, he writes down the following to-do list:

1.  Be a better father.

2.  Be a better man.

3.  Fall in love.

4.  Die.

 

Doesn’t that pretty much sum up life even if you’re not facing a life-ending heart defect?  The story is incredible, filled with so many truths and challenges.  Just one of those WOW books.  And I threw it across the room when I was done.

 

3 responses to “Wow … and I mean Wow

  1. deborahbrasket August 24, 2013 at 10:46 am

    Sounds great–thanks so sharing.

  2. Green Embers August 24, 2013 at 11:18 am

    Dang it, another book to add to my to read list. Sounds fantastic! Thanks for sharing.

  3. Patti Hall August 25, 2013 at 7:30 am

    WOW I want to read it. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

