KingMidget's Ramblings

Pull up a chair. Let's talk.

The One Promotional Site That Works


The only one that produced real results for me was ereadernewstoday.com.  As I’ve written before, when they featured One Night in Bridgeport in May, about 500 people downloaded it that day and the next and in the months since, another 500-600 (at least) have downloaded the book.  I have strongly recommended to my self-publishing friends to try the site.  Minimum requirements:  at least 10 reviews on Amazon with an average rating of 4 or above.  Nothing to pay upfront.  Instead, you pay 25% of your earnings from sales that occur the day you are featured and the following day.   The site is linked to Amazon so they get the sales figures and send you a bill.  Those 500 downloads I got back in May produced about $170 in revenue.  I was more than happy to send 25% of that to ereadernewstoday, particularly since I’ve had so many more sales in the months since.

Today, one of my blogging/writing friends from the other side of the world was featured on ereadernewstoday. Charlie and Pearl by Tammy Robinson is one of those books I believe is why self-publishing has a place in the literary world.  It’s different and charming and incredible.  As I write this, her book is #1,647 in the Kindle Store; #12 in the Inspirational subgenre; and #14 in the Romantic subgenre.  I’m pretty sure Tammy will be letting me know her sales figures for the day and also for the days ahead.  Whatever they are, they’ll be pretty incredible.

No other site I’ve tried has come close to producing the same results.

(And a note to Charles:  she submitted her novel and didn’t hear back.  She sent a follow-up email and that’s when they notified her they’d be featuring her novel.)

13 responses to “The One Promotional Site That Works

  1. Charles Yallowitz August 22, 2013 at 7:04 pm

    I did send a follow-up email and still got nothing. That was a few weeks ago. I’m guessing something in my book didn’t make the cut.

  2. Bastet August 22, 2013 at 7:31 pm

    Reblogged this on Bastet and Sekhmet and commented:
    a promotional site that works…

  3. Help Me Help Holly ♥ August 22, 2013 at 7:38 pm

    Charlie and Pearl has sold 150 copies so far 🙂 Thanks so much for telling me about the site Mark, I’m over the moon with the results! I will let you know the figures again at the end of the day and tomorrow.

    • kingmidget August 22, 2013 at 7:49 pm

      The sales today and tomorrow will be nice, but what I hope even more is that it will get you a few sales a day for weeks and months like it did for me.

  4. Kirsten August 22, 2013 at 11:13 pm

    Reblogged this on walking in the light and commented:
    Another self-publishing tidbit to consider! My mind is getting full…

  5. butimbeautiful August 23, 2013 at 5:56 pm

    I’m intending to do that – maybe when I come back from overseas. I’d like to have more reviews – currently I have 12 – before I ask them, but also I’d like to try to re-think my blurb, as i think it makes a huge difference. I too would be happy to pay 25%.

  6. butimbeautiful August 23, 2013 at 5:57 pm

    If I were Ereadernews, what I’d be looking for is books that would MAKE me that 25%. So the question is…how to convince them.

    • kingmidget August 23, 2013 at 8:19 pm

      Exactly. My concern is that since they’re linked to Amazon/Kindle, they look at existing sales and make the determination, at least in part on that.

  7. Pingback: 4 Days Remain… | The Ranting Papizilla

Leave a Reply

