KingMidget's Ramblings

Pull up a chair. Let's talk.

You Know You Want It


What you might ask am I talking about?  What could I know about you that you may not even be willing to admit about yourself?  What do I know that you don’t?  It’s rather simple.  It should be obvious.  Please, seriously, you don’t know what I’m talking about.  Fine, what you want, what you need, what you’ve been begging for without realizing you were doing it, is another post about pizza.  And, if nothing else, I am here to serve your needs and wants.  So …

I learned a couple of weeks ago about a different way to make a pizza.  You prepare it in a skillet or frying pan, cook on the stovetop for a couple of minutes and then put it in a very hot oven to finish.  Staying at a cabin with limited kitchen resources (I mean, when are these cabin owners going to recognize they need to have a baking stone in place).  Well, this cabin doesn’t even have a regular oven.  Just a toaster oven.  It’s larger than most, but still, not an oven.  Not a baking stone.

But there was a cast iron skillet that was the right size for an individual pizza that fit in that toaster oven.  I gave it a whirl.

IMG_2623[1]

I didn’t get it quite right.  I made my usual pizza dough.  Recipe you ask.  Well, I don’t know anymore.  It’s basically an incredibly small amount of yeast, a bit of salt and another bit of sugar.  For this one person crust, I used a little more than 1/2 cup warm water and then added flour until I got dough of the right consistency.  If you’re a breadmaker, you’ll know what I mean.  If you’re not, I’m not sure how to explain it further.  The dough spent a couple of hours rising while I … now, don’t be shocked by this … worked on The Irrepairable Past, producing almost 1,000 words.

I oiled the pan, heated it.  And I mean really heated it.  Flipped the dough in.  Drizzled some olive oil on it, added some minced garlic.  Then mozzarella, sausage, tomatoes and red onions.  The pizza stays in the pan on the stovetop for a couple of minutes before it goes in the oven at a high temperature.  I had it at 450 degrees before I switched it to Broil to get it up to 500 degrees.

It came out pretty good.  The only problem is that I think I had it on the stovetop too long.  The bottom crust in the center was more than just suitable charred.  So, lesson learned.  Less time on the stovetop.  I do think this method of making a pizza has the potential to produce a perfect crust.  I’m going to keep experimenting with it.

6 responses to “You Know You Want It

  1. Charles Yallowitz July 28, 2013 at 6:48 pm

    You’re right. That was obvious and what I wanted. Never thought about cooking pizza that way. Cast iron skillets are great.

  2. sknicholls July 28, 2013 at 6:57 pm

    This is way cool. I will have to try. I have said many times, you could take away anything in my kitchen, but leave me my cast iron skillet! You can boil, bake, simmer, saute, roast, fry…just about anything you need to do in it. Mine was my grandmother’s great great grandmother’s ( I didn’t take the time to try to figure out how many greats that would be to me.) Old.

  3. ioniamartin July 29, 2013 at 12:40 pm

    That looks good. By the post title though I expected something more risque. 🙂

Leave a Reply

