KingMidget's Ramblings

Pull up a chair. Let's talk.

Why?


Green Paint Splashed on the Lincoln Memorial.

Why can’t there be certain places that are so sacred that they are untouchable?  Top of the list for me would probably be the Lincoln Memorial.

Bankrupt Detroit to Build $444 Million Hockey Stadium.

With city taxpayers footing 2/3 of the bill for the stadium, why do I now feel as though the bankruptcy filed by the city of Detroit is a sham instead of a shame?

Zimmerman Juror Thought He Was Guilty.

Why didn’t she vote her belief and her conscience then?  She says “the law didn’t prove it.”  I call bullshit.  She should have stood up to B37 who seems to have gone into the trial and deliberations with an agenda — writing a book and getting rich off of it.

The Monday Morning Quarterback.

This last link is to Sports Illustrated’s new website dedicated to the NFL 365 days a year.  Why does a sport that lasts from August through January, and in which each team only plays once a week during the regular season, have to dominate sports for an entire year?   It’s nearing the end of July.  Pennant races are heating up, the trade deadline approaches.  This is when baseball takes it up a notch.  And what are the headlines on all of the sports websites?  NFL training camps begin soon — what teams will surprise, what teams will disappoint, blah, blah, blah.

The Monday Morning Quarterback began as a very well written, multipage, multistory look at each Sunday’s NFL games.  Peter King wrote that weekly column.  Eventually it was expanded to a shorter Tuesday edition as well.  Now, it is a multi-authored, daily website.  All about the NFL.  I think they jumped the shark on this one.  Peter King was worth reading once a week.  The daily effort, including other writers, will water down the effort.

Never mind that the NFL is quickly becoming the second most boring major sport.  Right behind the NBA.

5 responses to “Why?

  1. Charles Yallowitz July 26, 2013 at 7:39 am

    Doesn’t MLB and Golf have their own channels? I can see a point in the NFL channel if they do interview, biography shows, and classic games for the people who love football and only football. It’s definitely a specific audience, but what sport isn’t. Personally, I sleep through baseball.

    I’m confused on that juror thing too. Seems the decision was made and now the jurors are coming out to say how they disagree with themselves. The cynic in me wonders if they made the decision for drama and to cash in on the media whirlwind.

    • kingmidget July 26, 2013 at 7:46 am

      I suppose you are right about the TV channels. So, It’s a disease that crosses sports. The problem I have is with how the NFL just dominates everything. It’s July, training camps haven’t even started, and the lead story on all the sports websites isn’t about the baseball pennant races, it’s about the NFL.
      I can understand people sleeping through baseball. But, it’s the sport I love.

      • Charles Yallowitz July 26, 2013 at 7:50 am

        I’m a football fan and I don’t notice it. I’m in New York too and all I hear about is baseball. It’s probably a fan thing because I get annoyed when all I hear about is baseball and basketball during football season. The big thing with football right now is the slew of arrests and that guy from the Patriots involved in a murder case. Hernandez, I think.

      • kingmidget July 26, 2013 at 9:37 pm

        That’s my point thought .. arrests … what does that actually have to do with the game? I’m a sports fan, anything with a ball, anything involving competition will get me interested … to a point. But there has to be balance. There is far too much attention paid to the NFL when games aren’t actually being played.

      • Charles Yallowitz July 27, 2013 at 3:39 am

        But that happens with every sport. I hear about non-sport stuff with baseball and basketball. It’s more the celebrity culture than sport culture. I really don’t see any special attention on the NFL. For example, are we really supposed to care who Jeter is banging or which basketball player is with a Kardashian?

Leave a Reply

