KingMidget's Ramblings

Pull up a chair. Let's talk.

If I Only I Could Bottle This


From a fellow blogger, writer, author … who has managed to get a deal from a small publisher focused on e-books … via her Twitter feed.

Am reading ‘Weed Therapy’ by @MkPaxson. It captures the restless angst that comes with a stagnant life brilliantly

I thanked her for the kind words and she replied…

You’re welcome. You have such talent. I predict you’ll be a well-known author name someday. Have you thought of seeking an agent?

Well, yes, and I’ve never got past the query letter.  I don’t know how to crack the code.  And the thing is that I know that everything I’ve got coming is better than One Night in Bridgeport or Weed Therapy.

I’m still baffled by the idea that somebody might think I have talent.  Accepting compliments has never been my strong suit, but I’m working on it.  What I really need to do is figure out how to translate those compliments into a larger audience.  What I really need to do is figure out how to get this stuff … OUT THERE!

Thank you, Carrie Rubin.  Your kind words have made for a much happier Tuesday evening than might otherwise have happened.  And if you haven’t checked out Ms. Rubin’s first novel, The Seneca Scourge, you should.  There’s a lot more talent out there.

.

 

 

9 responses to “If I Only I Could Bottle This

  1. tjtherien July 23, 2013 at 9:25 pm

    an agent might be a good idea for you Mark…

  2. Jade Reyner July 24, 2013 at 2:31 am

    Congratulations and learn to take the compliments! I don’t think it comes easy to any of us, if someone pays me a compliment I deflect it or pass it onto someone else. I haven’t got your book yet, I shall have to give it a look! 🙂

    • kingmidget July 24, 2013 at 6:51 am

      Yes, it’s incredibly difficult to accept compliments gracefully, isn’t it. Carrie commented with a longer description of her compliment and it was incredibly consistent with how another writer has described my writing. So, I guess it’s time to accept their words and appreciate it.

  3. Charles Yallowitz July 24, 2013 at 4:41 am

    The mystery of getting an agent. If you ever figure out the secret then left us know. I’ve always wondered if they only want proven authors. One of those you need to be famous to get famous things.

    • kingmidget July 24, 2013 at 6:49 am

      That seems to be the case with both agents and publishers. Very, very, very difficult to crack open the door unless you have something already established behind you.

  4. Carrie Rubin July 24, 2013 at 5:42 am

    When you do get past that query letter, and the agent actually reads your work, I think he/she will be interested, especially when they learn how well ‘One Night in Bridgeport’ has done. And yes, I know ‘well’ is a relative term when it comes to book sales, but compared to most books out there, yours has done well.

    Ready for more compliments? You have an ease with your writing, a knack for including what needs to be there and omitting what doesn’t. And your description? I’m amicably envious. When the protagonist and Father Santos are having tea in that little dirt room in chapter 4, I felt as though I was there.

    I truly look forward to your future works.

    Thanks for the mention of my book, by the way. Always appreciated!

    • kingmidget July 24, 2013 at 6:48 am

      The tea scene is one of those places where I know I hit it out of the park. Glad it had that impact on you. It’s interesting how you describe my writing because it’s very consistent with Zoe Keithley’s description. So, maybe I should start believing it.
      Maybe, I need to figure out a different way to go about finding an agent.

Leave a Reply

