KingMidget's Ramblings

Pull up a chair. Let's talk.

Just Because


In my self-imposed blogging exile every once in a while I read something I must share.  Today is one of those days.  Read this (also watch the videos at the end and read the letter linked to as well) and tell me if we will ever reach a day when we recognize that we are all the same, all should have the same rights and opportunities, all should be protected and loved.  Why?  Because we all breathe.  I’m tired of the hate and fear that is inspired by religion and nations and races and belief systems and classes and everything else that divides.  It’s simple.  Love will find a way.  But only if you allow it in.  Am I an idealist?  Absolutely.  I hope that never changes.

5 responses to “Just Because

  1. kristentarzwell July 3, 2013 at 7:15 pm

    made me cry, thanks for sharing! It was beautifully written, I made my husband read it too and I’ll probably post that article on facebook as well.

    • kingmidget July 3, 2013 at 7:20 pm

      Yes, it is most definitely worth a Wednesday cry, isn’t it? I so wish we, as the human race, could figure out a way to take the lessons of that story and put them into play throughout our day and throughout our relationships.

      • butimbeautiful July 5, 2013 at 2:19 am

        You’re right, it’s very moving. Poor parent, what a burden of guilt, and what a tragic outcome. It’s a challenge, I guess, for any parent when their child takes a path that they believe is morally wrong (for her, disobedience to biblical edicts, for me, say, violence, perhaps?). I don’t know personally how I’d react if my son decided to take up a career as a waterboarder, perhaps – it’d be difficult to balance love and disgust.

  2. ioniamartin July 5, 2013 at 6:33 pm

    I guess that means we both are. I am racist against racists. Bigoted against bigots and wish the anarchists anarchy. I knew there was a good reason we were un-enemies.

Leave a comment