KingMidget's Ramblings

Pull up a chair. Let's talk.

Going Dark


I’ve got some issues in my life to resolve.  One of them is the incredible amount of time I waste on distractions.  This blog, as much as I’ve enjoyed it and as much as I’ve enjoyed the developing community here, is one of those distractions.  For years, I wanted to come up with a way to blog.  I had a number of failed attempts, but with this little outpost I finally found a way to keep at it.  Part of the reason I did was that I started to get feedback.  Likes and comments and followers.  I started to get some satisfaction and gratification from that feedback.  As well, through this blog, I’ve “met” some pretty incredible people who have become friends in this odd, sort of disconnected, internet kind of a way.  I mean, come on, I met the twin sister born twenty years later that I never knew I had.  Some of you are better friends to me than many of the people I interact with in real life on a daily basis.  And you can’t imagine how much I value that.

But the problem, as I’ve written or commented before, is that blogging has become a distraction.  It is one of the addictions that have begun to dominate my life.  Taking me away from things that are more real.  More long-term.  I have referred to blogging as like crack cocaine.  It’s a quick hit.  I’ve also referred to blogging as the equivalent of a quickie while novel writing is a long, slow love affair.  I’ve been going for the quickie for far too long.  It’s time for me to reacquaint myself with that love affair.

I’ve tried in various ways to do this over the months, none of them successful.  So, I have to do it cold turkey.  I’m cutting myself off.  My Ramble needs to come to a stop for a bit.  It’s time for me to re-discover myself.  Maybe re-invent myself.  Maybe just re-focus on the things that really matter and find ways to control the distractions that are more attractive, but less filling.

So, this little corner of the internet is going dark for a bit.  Don’t know how long.  I will miss it and I will miss you.  I hope when I return, new and improved, you’ll still be here.

For now, I’ll leave you with this.  It isn’t perfect, but it has some words and concepts in it that couldn’t be more right for how I feel now and how I have felt for far too long.

14 responses to “Going Dark

  1. Carrie Rubin June 24, 2013 at 6:27 pm

    We’ll miss you, but I certainly get where you’re coming from.

  2. Rana June 24, 2013 at 6:47 pm

    We’ll miss you too! And a beautiful last selection for a song. I was just thinking of using it myself. Kudos to your journey so far and great luck on your journey from here on out! 🙂 Cheers!

  3. Help Me Help Holly ♥ June 24, 2013 at 7:09 pm

    Oh I will miss you! But I do understand why you’re doing it. Good luck and I look forward to the day you come back to us xx

  4. Papizilla June 24, 2013 at 8:33 pm

    Well Boo. Does that include your other blog too? Or just this one? I am doing a review on your other two books soon, should I use this site then as a link for you?

    • kingmidget June 24, 2013 at 9:19 pm

      Theselfpublisher.com will continue as will this blog. I’m just not going to post here for awhile. So when you complete your reviews link to this one. Thanks. I look forward to what you have to say.

  5. oliviaobryon June 24, 2013 at 8:47 pm

    I admire your choice. May much healing and introspection and accomplishment accompany your decision 😀

  6. Sahm King June 24, 2013 at 8:57 pm

    Unexpected, indeed. Can’t say this isn’t disappointing, but then, you gotta do what you gotta do, always. Good luck to you, Mark! Most definitely enjoyed your “ramblings”.

    We’ll be here when you get back. 🙂

  7. butimbeautiful June 24, 2013 at 10:36 pm

    I’ll miss you too, Mark! Keep the blog and come back to it eventually. It’s true that you can’t really blog AND write a novel – the creative urge goes out in dribs and drabs and isn’t available for the larger effort. Twin sister from 20 years later??? I’m still trying to work that one out. Hope you’re back soon – and I’ll keep posting to the Self Publisher!

  8. Dadicus Grinch June 25, 2013 at 6:00 pm

    Sorry to hear this KM, as our connection was brief. But I wish you well as you continue your journey, and look forward to reading your blog upon your return. Take good care.

    • kingmidget June 25, 2013 at 6:29 pm

      What we connected on is one of the issues I need to resolve. Thanks for the good wishes. I have no doubt I’ll be back.

  9. Bastet June 25, 2013 at 8:37 pm

    Darn! I can’t say as I don’t understand your point of view…the blog does just kind of grow taking more time than one ever intended to give it. I myself have thought at times that it is more distracting than it should be…I’m glad to see though you’re taking a pause and not closing down…hope to see you soon!

  10. Conversations With The Moon June 25, 2013 at 10:52 pm

    We’ll be here when you get back…good luck.

  11. justmoo33 June 26, 2013 at 12:55 pm

    Good thinking! I’ll put the kettle on, and get on with my oh-so-nearly completed first draft of my current book. PS: if you answer any more comments, we’ll all know you’re bluffing :p

Leave a Reply

