KingMidget's Ramblings

Pull up a chair. Let's talk.

A Bit Of Validation


I wrote a few weeks ago about how I had decided to attend the Mendocino Coast Writer’s Conference.  One of their offerings each year is  “Master Class,” a special class that you can only get into after a jury reviews a sample of your work and adjudges you worthy.  The class spans all three mornings of the workshop is with somebody who is particularly talented, well-known in the particular genre being offered that year.

This year, the Master Class focuses on Short Story writing and is being led by Peter Orner, an award-winning short story and novel writer.  I sent in this piece as a sample.   I owe the guys at We Drink Because We’re Poets, Sahm King and Papizilla, a thank you.  I haven’t done much fiction writing lately.  Not on my novels.  Not on new short stories.  But, their weekly short story prompts have got my juices going a bit.  It was one of their prompts that pushed me to the Northville Five & Dime.

And that piece apparently was worthy from the jury’s perspective because I’m now in the Short Story Master Class at the end of July with ten other writers.

It’s an odd feeling to be honest.  I view the short stories I write in response to those prompts as “larks.”  I generally come up with an idea and then just go with it until I’m done.  Not much editing except what I edit as I write.  It’s hard to think of one of my “larks” as being quality, but what the heck.  I’ll take it.  I’m excited.  I’m thrilled.  And nervous at the same time.  What if they realize I’m not that talented?  Or worse yet, maybe, what if I’m better at this than I think?

6 responses to “A Bit Of Validation

  1. oliviaobryon June 15, 2013 at 4:16 pm

    Here’s to not being scared of failure OR success! 😀

  2. butimbeautiful June 15, 2013 at 5:47 pm

    Wow, that’s really really good! I like your short stories, I think they’re definitely worthy of a master class. I just hope you enjoy it – the class, that is.

    • kingmidget June 16, 2013 at 7:33 am

      Thank you. It means a lot to hear from others that my stories work. I write them and think “blah.” Sometimes I go back and read them again and think “I hit the nail on the head with that one.” But, the reality is that I just never really know. I’m pretty certain I’ll enjoy the class. Thanks.

  3. Bastet June 17, 2013 at 2:01 am

    You are a great writer…I guess we all at one time or another look at our work and think Blah! Great for you this wonderful confirmation! 🙂

Leave a Reply

