KingMidget's Ramblings

Pull up a chair. Let's talk.

Looking for Volunteer Writers for a Charitable Project


A few months back, I wrote a post about a charitable endeavor I was thinking of embarking on.  It continues to percolate.

Briefly summarized, I’m looking to help raise funds to help a local family — a single mother with five kids, two of whom she adopted out of the foster care system.  She continues to assist foster children, most recently taking in to crisis nursery babies for a few months.  Why raise money for them?  They live in one of the worst neighborhoods in the metropolitan area and she’d like to move to a better neighborhood.  There are plenty of other needs the family has.

I’m in the process of setting up a charitable trust for the family.  We’ll be trying to find different ways to get donations from people to help the family.  A fellow blogger/writer (and friend) brought the family to my attention and we have kicked around the idea of using our interest in writing to aid in the fundraising efforts.  We’ve discussed putting together a collection of short stories and publishing them and devoting the proceeds to the family.  The stories would focus on adoption, foster care, and family.  They could be fiction or non-fiction.  I’m thinking there could be poetry as well.  This is where you come in.  To me, the best way to do such a collection is to have as many different stories as possible.

I’ll be posting more about the family once the trust is established and we’re committed to making this work.  And that’s a key point to make.  My friend and I are still processing what we’re taking on and deciding whether we want to make the commitment to it.  It would help to know though if you’re interested in helping, my blogger/writer community.  Think about it.  Do you have a story in you that you’d like to share for a collection that could be published to help a family in need?

Let me know.  If you’d prefer a little privacy, feel free to email me at mpaxson55@gmail.com.

45 responses to “Looking for Volunteer Writers for a Charitable Project

  1. Sahm King June 9, 2013 at 12:33 pm

    Reblogged this on We Drink Because We're Poets and commented:
    Poets, authors, writers, bloggers! Check this out from Mark at KingMidget’s Ramblings. Short stories and poems for a good cause: volunteers writers!

  2. Sahm King June 9, 2013 at 12:41 pm

    I have stories (or, rather, ideas that I can turn into stories, things from childhood). If you commit, I’d like to contribute.

  3. crankycaregiver June 9, 2013 at 1:14 pm

    I have a story written from an unwed mother’s perspective that salutes adoptive parents. If something you’d be interested in including, let me know. Either way, I’m in. I can also do a fictional short story if you want.

    • kingmidget June 9, 2013 at 1:17 pm

      I will add you to the list and I am honored that you are willing to help out. The more writers who sign on for this, the more likely it is that I’m going to want to make it happen. So, thank you. As soon as my friend and I make our decision, I’ll let you know.

    • kingmidget June 12, 2013 at 8:45 pm

      Please email me at mpaxson55@gmail.com so I can add you to the email group for this project. It looks like we’re going to move forward.

  4. crankycaregiver June 9, 2013 at 1:15 pm

    Reblogged this on Grandma Says.. and commented:
    King Midgets trying to reach out a helping hand for a very special family. He needs our communities help to make it happen. Read and find out how we can help!

  5. Jennifer Writings of a Mrs June 9, 2013 at 1:49 pm

    This is something that I might be interested in participating in. Email me more information as you get it please.
    writingsofamrs@outlook.com
    Great cause.
    Jennifer

  6. Rana June 9, 2013 at 2:01 pm

    Reblogged this on Virginia the Viruliferous and commented:
    A very good cause. Any writers who are interested in contributing their writing for the benefit of this family, please read and join.

  7. Rana June 9, 2013 at 2:02 pm

    I’d be interested in contributing a story and poetry! Just let me know when you’d need something by. 🙂

  8. Bastet June 9, 2013 at 2:06 pm

    Reblogged this on Bastet and Sekhmet and commented:
    This sounds like something I’d be interested in, so count me in if you decide to commit…and you my friens, what’s your idea on this subject?

  9. AR Neal June 9, 2013 at 2:32 pm

    Reblogged this on One Starving Activist and commented:
    You know we can get this done…

  10. AR Neal June 9, 2013 at 2:34 pm

    I would like to help as well. Feel free to give details at starvingactivist[at]gmail[dot]com.

  11. tjtherien June 9, 2013 at 6:37 pm

    I would be interested if you commit…

  12. neenslewy June 10, 2013 at 1:22 am

    I’d like to help email awritersfountain [at] hotmail [dot] com with the details.

  13. neenslewy June 10, 2013 at 1:23 am

    Reblogged this on awritersfountain and commented:
    I am sure there are many of you willing to volunteer a piece of writing to help this good cause.

  14. Nina D'Arcangela June 10, 2013 at 7:11 am

    I’m happy to help if I can once you have the details and timing worked out.

  15. Pingback: Looking for Volunteer Writers for a Charitable Project | The Road to Nowhere...

  16. Cindy Sprigg June 10, 2013 at 7:50 am

    drop me a line with the detail

  17. moondustwriter June 10, 2013 at 9:43 am

    I’m willing to help either as a writer or editor

  18. Julianne Snow (@CdnZmbiRytr) June 10, 2013 at 11:22 am

    I’m happy to contribute as well. Can you give more details such as timeline for submission? Thanks!

    • kingmidget June 11, 2013 at 6:47 am

      Once I know that we’re committed to making this happen, hopefully in the next few weeks, I’ll share the details with everybody who has expressed an interest. Thanks yfor your interest.

  19. Helena Hann-Basquiat June 10, 2013 at 12:20 pm

    For the past few years I have been raising my teenage (and now young adult) niece after the death of my sister and her husband. I would love to contribute something, darling. Please let me know what you need and when you need it.

  20. Shainbird June 11, 2013 at 2:38 pm

    Talk about poetry and prose making a change! Count me in Mark, I’d love to help such a wonderful cause 🙂

    • kingmidget June 11, 2013 at 8:11 pm

      Thank you, Shainbird. I’ve quite a list of people interested in contributing. Now, it’s time for me to put the plan in action. I’ll share the details as soon as I have them.

  21. justmoo33 June 22, 2013 at 11:58 pm

    What a wonderful idea. I’d be happy to help, but am hampered with being a hard core sci-fi buff! Then I realised my very first short story was really a children’s story (an imaginary friend who looks like a leprechaun). So what about two sets of short stories – one on the theme you suggested, and a set of children’s stories?

Leave a Reply

