KingMidget's Ramblings

Pull up a chair. Let's talk.

Really, Mr. King, Please Stop


Actually, it’s me.  I’m the one with the problem.  I keep getting sucked in.  The many avenues of publishing that have opened up lately have also greatly expanded his efforts.  Every time I go looking around on Amazon and his name comes up it seems he has something new.  Seriously, he has two novels coming out in the next four months.  I thought he had retired a few years back.

And I got suckered in a few days ago.  With a short story for just .99.  A Face in the Crowd, according to Amazon co-written with Stewart O’Nan and Craig Wasson.  Who?  Well, ,turns out O’Nan is a novelist in his own write and based on what I see on Amazon, I may check out a book or two of his.  Wasson?  Still not sure.  One website says he was the author of 11/22/63.  Hold on a sec, wasn’t that Stephen King’s last novel.  The copyright page for the story lists it as held by King and O’Nan, but doesn’t list Wasson.  Something’s fishy here.

But, back to the story and my review of it.  Stephen King for .99.  A short story wrapped around baseball.  I can get into this.  Problem is — the story was crap and almost 1/2 of the download consists of teasers for the books King has co-written with Peter Straub.

And there you have it — that’s my review.  The story was crap.  I just spent as much time on it as he and his two “co-writers” did.  I’d love to know why it took three people to write it.

Please, if you care about me, remind me on a weekly basis — no more King.  No more King.  NO MORE KING!

7 responses to “Really, Mr. King, Please Stop

  1. Charles Yallowitz May 22, 2013 at 8:23 am

    Found this when I searched for Craig Wasson: Wasson is a prolific reader for audio books, having narrated Stephen King’s 2011 novel 11/22/63, and other books by Stephen King, as well as books by James Ellroy and John Grisham.

  2. kingmidget May 22, 2013 at 8:30 am

    Yep. I think I figured that out, but it didn’t fit with the narrative of my post. 😉 Besides, the Amazon page for the story doesn’t make it clear. I particularly like the website that lists Wasson as the author of 11/22/63 instead of the narrator of the audio version. In writing groups I participate in there has been a lot of discussion lately about voice. About how every writer has a voice. I believe Stephen King is a shining example of how that voice can get tired and old. Great, great story teller for a time, but seems to be more and more a caricature of himself.

  3. oliviaobryon May 22, 2013 at 5:58 pm

    Speaking of self-publishing, just came across this blog/site… Can’t quite figure out their angle (or what the advantage would be versus just self-publishing), but interesting: http://thoughtcatalog.com/ebooks/#

    • kingmidget May 22, 2013 at 9:38 pm

      Will need to look into it more, but it looks like they’ll publish your e-book for you. Carrie Rubin went through an e-publisher for her first novel. There’s some loss of control that results, but the trade off is the distribution through what may be an established venue. Maybe. It’s impossible to know with these just how much more exposure you’ll get through e-publishers. Plus, I couldn’t quickly see anything about what percentage the author gets, etc. Will look more.

      • oliviaobryon May 23, 2013 at 5:23 pm

        That makes sense and is what I figured. Looks like it might be a good way to publish shorter pieces. I like the photo element of it– a blog I follow published her blog entries from a year of travel through it and included her photography.

      • kingmidget May 23, 2013 at 8:27 pm

        There’s a photography blog I follow that recently began an effort to pair her photos with writers who write stories/poems/whatever inspired by the photos. I think that’s an incredible idea.

      • oliviaobryon May 23, 2013 at 9:06 pm

        That is a really cool idea– I’m often inspired to write by photos. Expecting Happiness all began from someone’s family portrait I saw where the parents of a new baby had this sadness in their faces even though they were surrounded by incredible beauty. Photographs are amazingly powerful.

Leave a Reply

