KingMidget's Ramblings

Pull up a chair. Let's talk.

The Self-Publisher, Part Two


I got a lot of likes on my post yesterday, but maybe I need to clarify this.  This idea is for the self-publishing blog to be a community.  It’s not just about me.  It’s about having a stable of contributors, posting about what they’ve learned.  What worked for them, what didn’t.  Warnings about sites to avoid and pointing people towards sites that work.  Promoting self-published authors we discover who are producing quality work.

I can’t do it myself.  I don’t want to do it myself.  I’d like to know if you’re interested in contributing.  No requirements other than to post when you have something.  A new site.  A new author.  A new idea.  Whatever.  I’ll set the blog up and write posts about my self-publishing journey, but it’s really up to others to keep it going.  I probably haven’t touched more than the tip of the iceberg.  This only works with a variety of voices, a range of experiences.

So, like this post.  More importantly, tell me.  Are you willing to contribute to the effort.

25 responses to “The Self-Publisher, Part Two

  1. Help Me Help Holly ♥ May 21, 2013 at 6:40 pm

    Yes, I am.

  2. oliviaobryon May 21, 2013 at 9:59 pm

    I’m in to the extent I have anything useful to say 😉

    • kingmidget May 22, 2013 at 7:31 am

      You will. Soon. 🙂 Seriously, this is not a blog where people have any obligation to post anything more than what they want and no more frequently than they want. But, I also want to see if we can support each other and expand the circle of people we support. One of the ideas I have is that we’ll promote self-published works but only if one of our contributors has read it and gives it a thumbs up. So, maybe some of us won’t have a lot to say about the self-publishing business (yet), but there coiuyld be other ways to contribute.

      • oliviaobryon May 22, 2013 at 5:33 pm

        I was just being a brat because self-publishing scares me. I like the idea and want to contribute by reading and writing, it sounds like a great way to learn from others and grow in my writing network.

      • kingmidget May 22, 2013 at 9:40 pm

        I didn’t see any brattiness. I’ve got enough interest that I’m going to set it up and see what happens. The good news is that as near as I can tell http://www.theselfpublisher.com seems to be available. 🙂

      • kingmidget May 23, 2013 at 8:26 pm

        And, it is officially mine now. Or, I should say ours, with “ours” constituting the bloggers/ writers who have indicated a willingness to contribute. Maybe I’m an idealist, but really think this could become an incredible effort of many.

      • oliviaobryon May 23, 2013 at 9:04 pm

        Got your invite– I’m excited. Will definitely check it out this weekend! 😀

      • kingmidget May 23, 2013 at 9:09 pm

        Yes. Now I need to think how to start it out right. Don’t forget to send me your blurb for inclusion in the About page. 😉
        By the way, on that other project … talking with the attorney on Tuesday.

      • oliviaobryon May 23, 2013 at 9:13 pm

        Cool on Tuesday and the blurb– I’ll send after I get a feel for what else is going up there. I don’t think you have to worry so much about how to start it, just write something and other ideas will grow from it. Maybe just something biographical about your own joys/trials with self-publishing?

  3. Michelle Proulx May 22, 2013 at 6:49 am

    I’m in 🙂 I can definitely give you all the goods on iUniverse and how that little experiment has worked out, lol.

    • kingmidget May 22, 2013 at 7:26 am

      Thank you. I’m up to three volunteers. Would love to hear about iUniverse. I’ll set something up over the weekend and contact you and the other volunteers to get it started.

  4. deborahbrasket May 22, 2013 at 9:00 am

    Sounds like a good idea. I’d be willing to contribute what I learn about and hear.

  5. Anonymous May 22, 2013 at 5:28 pm

    I’m game, Mark, if you’re still looking for people.

    • Sahm King May 22, 2013 at 5:29 pm

      That was me… Apparently wasn’t logged in…

      • kingmidget May 22, 2013 at 9:40 pm

        You’re on my list. Creating the site and inviting contributors on board is on my list of things to do this weekend.

      • kingmidget May 23, 2013 at 8:09 pm

        I tried to send you an invitation to become an Author on the new website and it said there’s a problem .. that Sahm King doesn’t exist. This makes me sad. Do you have an email address linked to WordPress I can use? If so, send it to mpaxson55@gmail.com.

  6. butimbeautiful May 22, 2013 at 11:08 pm

    I like the idea. I don’t know if this is relevant..but what happens if you read someone’s book, support the idea that they have written it..but can’t think of anything much good to say about it? Bloggers have a sort of responsibility to be positive and supportive, and the only alternative seems to me to be to say nothing.

    • kingmidget May 23, 2013 at 6:46 am

      Then we would say nothing. I want to support self-publishers, but I also don’t want to support them just because their self-publishing. It’s gotta be something that one of us likes. Not exactly sure yet how the review/promotional piece will work, but in my head, a writer who is interested would send me an email about their work and then I’d send an email to our contributor list to see if anybody wants to read and review. If our readers don’t like it, we’d quietly let the author know. If our readers like it, we’d review and promote it on the site.

Leave a Reply

