KingMidget's Ramblings

Pull up a chair. Let's talk.

Really … It’s a Solitary Thing


Per Ray Bradbury:

As Bradbury explained in Story of a Writer, allowing the ‘subconscious time to think’ was essential.

‘The time we have alone; the time we have in walking; the time we have in riding a bicycle; are the most important times for a writer. Escaping from a typewriter is part of the creative process. You have to give your subconscious time to think. Real thinking always occurs on the subconscious level.  (From here: http://dangerousminds.net/comments/a_writers_life_ray_bradbury_on_writing)

And, it’s a mental thing as well.  So much of writing is what happens in the mind.  It’s why we have those far off stares.  This weekend, my younger son sat across from me at dinner.  Usually he sits next to me, so he’s not used to seeing those stares.  So, at some point, I went there.  The there that’s in my head.  He asked me what I was doing.  What I was staring at.  My oldest replied something like this, “he always does that.”  And he was surprised my youngest didn’t realize.  But that’s what happens when you sit across from me instead of next to me.  You’re the recipient of my vacant stares.  The ones that say nothing more than “I’m in my head now.  I’m not here with you.”

It’s such an odd thing, but I think it’s a thing that writers have.  All of us.  This space in our head where we retreat to.  I have always said that so much of writing is mental for me.  Even the writing I have done for my job is the same.  Anything that is significant, I have to process in that mental space before I began to write.

11 responses to “Really … It’s a Solitary Thing

  1. tjtherien May 21, 2013 at 7:15 pm

    I tend to form entire ideas or stories or compose an entire poem in my head before I put pen to page or fingers to keys… I do this while I’m doing other things… I have gotten better at not staring off into nothing when I am in company, but it still happens… sometimes that internal dialogue has something to say that just won’t wait until I’m walking or gardening or canoeing or whatever

    • kingmidget May 21, 2013 at 8:42 pm

      I wonder sometimes if people who don’t write have any idea what goes on inside the heads of those that do. Same could probably be said for any artist type.

      • tjtherien May 21, 2013 at 9:04 pm

        judging by the times I’ve heard ” Yo Dude where were you?” I would say not… and I would say it’s probably a good thing they have no idea what goes on in our heads they might have us committed…and I agree it’s probably more an any artist thing than a writing thing…

  2. ladysighs May 22, 2013 at 2:25 am

    We can be riding into town to the grocery or doctors or wherever and I will get an idea. Even more than an idea. I get the exact wording. Maybe not great wording but words I don’t want to forget. I start mumbling it to myself as I frantically dig into the purse for scrape of paper and pen. If I don’t get it down, it will be lost forever. My driver doesn’t understand but now knows not to interrupt. Thinks I’m just adding to the to do list.

    • kingmidget May 22, 2013 at 7:27 am

      I have those types of moments occasionally, but not as often as the staring into space times. But, yes, every once in a while, I must write something down. Usually, it’s at night when I’m trying to go to sleep.

  3. Bastet May 22, 2013 at 3:07 am

    An interesting consideration indeed…I often have my best moments when I wake up in the morning…nothing is quite as sharp as then…subconcious has had it’s field day I guess…

  4. butimbeautiful May 22, 2013 at 4:20 pm

    I think that’s true. Though I go off into space thinking about lots of things – I can be very focused, but sometimes I can also be very distracted!

Leave a Reply

