KingMidget's Ramblings

Pull up a chair. Let's talk.

The Self Publisher


I’ve had this idea for the last few days.  I’m throwing out to you, my followers.  I want to start a new blog dedicated to self-publishing.

Those of us who blog and write and publish, I believe, owe it to each other to support each other’s efforts.  We can do this with “likes” and “follows” and reviews and the like, but there’s more there.  We have learned things on our individual paths that can help each other and those who come along after.

I want to start a blog dedicated to:

1.  The lessons we’ve learned and the pitfalls we’ve discovered.

2.  Offering a platform for self-published authors to promote their works and offer their own advice.

3.  Offering some level of assistance, such as manuscript review and simple editing.

I’m open to other ideas.

Why have I thought of this?  I mean, really, King Midget, there are all sorts of bloggers and websites that talk about self-publishing.  What’s so special about this idea you have.

It won’t just be my blog.  It won’t just be Sahm King’s blog.  Or Carrie Rubin’s blog.  Or Charles Yallowitz’ blog.  Or … there are many others (butimbeautiful, help me help holly; those waiting in the wings, hesitant to dip their toes in the water, like Olivia).  It will be a blog that belongs to all of us.  I’m tired of reading countless blogs and websites that say all sorts of different things.  I want to go to one place and get the scoop on this thing.  The Self Publisher.  Tips, advice, services, promotion.  It won’t cost anybody anything.  We will not charge a dime for promoting somebody’s self-published work.  (That said, there’s a lot of self-published crap out there — there I said it — one of the obligations we will have is to review anything we promote and provide real and credible thoughts on the quality.)  We will not charge a dime to take a look at somebody’s manuscript before they walk down the aisle and say “I do” to the self-publishing genie.

What do you say?  Interested.  Let me know.

23 responses to “The Self Publisher

  1. Sahm King May 20, 2013 at 9:47 pm

    Now, there’s an idea. And it sounds like a win-win by default.

  2. Sahm King May 20, 2013 at 9:48 pm

    Reblogged this on The Arkside of Thought | Poetry, Philosophy, Politics & Life and commented:
    People, check out King Midget’s blog proposal. Any thoughts?

  3. Help Me Help Holly ♥ May 20, 2013 at 10:27 pm

    Sounds good Mark x

  4. Pingback: The Self Publisher | Help me - help Holly

  5. Lilith Colbert May 20, 2013 at 11:28 pm

    Since I am new to self publishing and am totally confuddled by ALL the masses of bullshit and shit that IDK if it’s bull, it would be helpful to have smth in one blog, by experienced writers, to help us n00bs on our way…

  6. writeonthebeach May 20, 2013 at 11:32 pm

    Sounds like a really helpful resource. It would be good to help other writers avoid the mistakes already made.

  7. kdavisfanclub May 21, 2013 at 2:11 am

    A very worthwhile project, wish I could commit myself but time is limited. I would be happy to read and review, offer advice and support but I am a man who keeps his promises so am careful when I make them. I am well read in fantasy fiction and poetry if anyone wants a critique, I don’t charge and I don’t want anything; i just hope everyone can spare a thought for others. I’d be interested to learn more but please keep in mind my time limits. Sincere best wishes from Baldy 🙂

    • kingmidget May 21, 2013 at 6:40 am

      Thank you. Looks like I’ll have to make a list of people interested. I don’t expect anybody to contribute anymore than they can.

  8. Michelle Proulx May 21, 2013 at 6:33 am

    Sounds intriguing to me. So who would run it? A conglomeration of bloggers all working together?

    • kingmidget May 21, 2013 at 6:38 am

      Yes. I’d set it up and invite the bloggers I know of who are involved in self-publishing to join up and from there it would be a joint effort.

  9. butimbeautiful May 23, 2013 at 2:35 am

    It’s funny, I had the same thought in the last week or so. It’s probably having a book coming out that gives you these ideas! There are so many bloggers who write & self-publish-well of course, that’s partly why we blog. I wonder if we could form a sort of group on Good Reads? I notice they have ‘groups’ of likeminded people.

    • kingmidget May 23, 2013 at 6:44 am

      Goodreads may be a possibility also. I’m actually thinking that if I can get a WordPress site up and running soon enough, your book could be our first promotional effort. Or at least a review for you.

      • butimbeautiful May 24, 2013 at 2:26 am

        I tried to leave a blurb in About but couldn’t seem to access the list of pages. Maybe I’ve forgotten how. So I left the blurb in a draft post instead! I’ll investigate the Goodreads option further – see how you set up a group. Of course, you have to get people other than authors to join it, somehow. But that shouldn’t be beyond our evil minds…and thanks for the suggestion. Whoever gets their book out first, perhaps!

      • kingmidget May 24, 2013 at 6:54 am

        Let me know when you think yours will be ready to hit the market. If you send me your blurb for the About page, I should be able to add it. Or just put the details in a post and then I’ll add it to the About page.

      • butimbeautiful May 24, 2013 at 7:49 pm

        oh – is it a book blurb then? I thought it was a blurb about Self Publisher. Now I’m confused…I’d better email you and get it straight. Not today tho, Mr F is coming over and that means NO computer for me!

      • kingmidget May 24, 2013 at 7:52 pm

        I want you to contribute to theselfpublisher.com — what you’ve learned, the lessons you have to share with others. I’d also like to promote your next novel. Me, personally, with a review and a recommendation.
        The blurb I need from you if you want to contribute to theselfpublisher.com is a brief description of you similar to the one I put on the About page about me. So I can add you to the About page.

      • butimbeautiful May 24, 2013 at 8:06 pm

        ok, now I get it. I’ll do that then. Do you want me to email you the blurb or put it on the site? Because I don’t think I have access to the About page. Sorry if I’m being thick and making this hard for you. I will get it all eventually!

      • kingmidget May 24, 2013 at 8:07 pm

        I think you’re right. I’m the only one with access to the about page so email me your biographical blurb. Thank you!

  10. Bastet May 25, 2013 at 4:46 am

    I don’t know why my comment wasn’t on this page..maybe another one? Anyway, this sounds like it could be a very very good idea…I’m new to this whole show and would love to figure out what one has to do to get started here! Working together is such a great idea always…sharing ideas and experience…it really sound very very good!

  11. Liz Terry May 29, 2013 at 8:14 am

    Great idea! Count me in.

Leave a Reply

