KingMidget's Ramblings

Pull up a chair. Let's talk.

A Peek Inside


Driving around town today with the youngest of Princely Midgets, I saw an Adopt-A-Highway sign.  It was sponsored by the First Atheist Church of True Science aka FACTS.  Hmmm.  An Atheist Church.  This requires further inquiry.

First, I needed to research the definition of church.  “A building for public especially Christian worship.”  That’s the primary definition.  The secondary definitions equally apply to worship, clergy, and the like.  Which, of course, leads me to the ultimate question.  How can atheists have a church?

I’m one.  A fire-breathing, devil-worshipping atheist.  To me, at least, besides the lack of belief in a god or a supreme being that created our world, being an atheist also means the absence of any belief.  It’s the absence of the need for rituals or of symbols.  Yet, FACTS website identifies symbols to reflect their beliefs, created rituals to reflect important matters.  There are sermons.  I realize that much of this website may be somewhat tongue and cheek and rather than trying to establish an atheistic religion is really a sarcastic way to critique real religions, but … stop calling yourself a church.

* * *

As near as I can tell, at my peak yesterday, One Night in Bridgeport hit #338 on the rankings for all books on Amazon yesterday.  Over 400 Kindle downloads yesterday.  Another 60+ today, shortly before 5:00 p.m.  I’d love it if these downloads were at a more “legitimate” price.  Established authors and those who are lucky enough to have a publishing contract are able to charge almost full price for downloads.  As a reader, and as a writer who has now self-published and knows a little more about the costs of a hard copy paperback, I’m offended that they’re not discounting downloads.  We shouldn’t have to pay $9.99 or $10.99 or more for a download.   That said, there’s some price between there and .99 that is legitimate and reasonable to ask.  The problem is when it’s little ol’ me and I don’t have a publisher behind me, when there’s no marketing budget, when there’s no reviews in the NY Times or from Publisher’s Weekly, and when the reader has never heard of me, it’s perfectly understandable that the reader won’t buy for anything more than .99.  Why take a chance?

* * *

More on this later, but, Poetry Month in April, opened me up to a larger supporting cast of bloggers who write and read and support the efforts of those who do.  I’m talking about you Sahm King and Ranting Papizilla.  And Kira and Basket.  And others who I don’t have on the tip of my tongue, but you’re there nonetheless.  You get added to others like Carrie Rubin and Olivia O’Bryon.  It’s an on-line support group as we all traipse down the path of writing.  It’s huge.  And, I’ll be writing more about it soon.

6 responses to “A Peek Inside

  1. jackiewellington21 May 19, 2013 at 9:43 am

    Question: Is Atheism a religion or not?

    • kingmidget May 19, 2013 at 1:05 pm

      Personally, the only way I believe being an atheist makes any sense is an individual concept. As a result, no, atheism is not, and should not be treated as, a religion.

  2. Pingback: A Rant for Sunday | KingMidget's Ramblings

Leave a Reply

