KingMidget's Ramblings

Pull up a chair. Let's talk.

#475 With a Bullet


Earlier today, I wrote about my reacquaintance with one of the best addictions there are — seeing your book sell on Amazon.  As I noted, today was the day that Ereadernewstoday.com would be featuring my book as one of the bargain books.  When I got up this morning, three copies of One Night in Bridgeport had been downloaded.  An hour later, it was at eighteen.  And, well, as I write this now, a little bit after 10:00 p.m., I’m at 394 downloads for the day.  Yes, it’s only .99 per download.  Yes, I get 35% of that while Amazon keeps the rest.  Yes, it’s not a huge financial windfall.  But, it’s 400 more people reading my book, a few more dollars in my pocket, and a wonderful feeling all day long.  And, the opportunity to look forward to seeing how this progresses in the days ahead.  Last time I went through this, I expected each day to see a slow down from the day before.  The slow down didn’t really start for a week, with each day doubling the sales of the day before.  So, I’m thinking I can live with that outcome here again.  I’m trying not to be that optimistic, though.

Oh, and yeah, at the moment, One Night in Bridgeport is ranked 475 in all of the books available on Kindle.  That’s out of more than 1,000,000 books available for the Kindle.  And, it’s #7 in Legal Thrillers, hanging with the likes of Lescoart, Connelly and Grisham.  See below from the Amazon page for Bridgeport as it exists at this moment.  And, no, I’m not on cloud nine, I’m on cloud .99.

Another lesson learned here.  There are websites that produce results for self-published authors and those that don’t.  A couple of weeks ago, I spent $10 and $5 on a couple of sites that promote books for the self-published author.  Those efforts produced absolutely no results.  askdavid.com was one of them.  Not going back there.  I don’t remember the other, but it doesn’t matter.  The websites that work the best — the ones that are free.  Goodreads cost me nothing, other than what I wanted to put in on a promotion — two free copies in a giveaway — and got hundreds of people interested in the book.  Ereadernewstoday.com cost me nothing and one simple mention on their website and pushed out to their Facebook followers produced this.

Product Details

9 responses to “#475 With a Bullet

  1. Sahm King May 17, 2013 at 10:50 pm

    Reblogged this on The Arkside of Thought | Poetry, Philosophy, Politics & Life and commented:
    People, people, if you can, check out Mark’s book, One Night in Bridgeport!

  2. Bastet May 17, 2013 at 11:53 pm

    Reblogged this on Bastet and Sekhmet and commented:
    Important ideas to promote your books…

  3. Carrie Rubin May 18, 2013 at 5:25 am

    Really happy for you!! Wish I could use that site, but I can’t change the price of my book. Maybe soon I’ll see you on the best seller list in my USA Today! I’ll say, “Hey, I know that guy!”

    • kingmidget May 18, 2013 at 4:26 pm

      Among the pros and cons of traditional publishing versus self-publishing. The simple reality is that without some type of marketing muscle, some type of major support from reviewers, or something like that, there is simply no way the masses will be convinced to spend $4.99, $6.99, or more on an unknown author. Guaranteed most of the 460+ who have downloaded Bridgeport in the past day and a half never would have at $2.99 or $4.99.

  4. butimbeautiful May 18, 2013 at 4:53 pm

    Wow! congratulations!! I’m going to have to pick your brains about how to do this, you’re obviously a bit of an expert!

    • kingmidget May 18, 2013 at 4:54 pm

      Expert? Not yet. But I’ve definitely learned a lot in the last year. If I were you, I’d go to ereadernewstoday.com and sign your book up. If you do, let me know how it goes.

Leave a Reply

