KingMidget's Ramblings

Pull up a chair. Let's talk.

A Peek Inside


I realize that this involves a generalization about women, but I don’t consider it negative.  One wonders why, on Mother’s Day, Pizza Rock couldn’t turn off their six large screen TVs, all of which were showing sporting events.  Player’s Championship on two televisions.  Toronto versus Boston on a couple of others — in Sacramento.  I have no doubt it would have got worse as the day went on.  At the moment, the Player’s Championship is still going.  The Giants are playing the Braves and the Warriors are fighting for the lives against the Spurs. Yes, there are some moms who enjoy sports, but I’m pretty sure most would like to have the men in their life spending that small amount of time on Mother’s Day not watching the television.  Taking a break from the endless sports diet.  I’ll be the first to admit that just about all I watch on TV anymore is sports.  That’s not because I’m addicted to sports, it’s because the rest of the TV universe is mostly crap and I don’t have the patience for it anymore.  The other thing that was going on at Pizza Rock was they had a singer there playing his acoustic guitar.  David Zaragoza, who apparently doesn’t exist anywhere on the internet or Spotify.  He was really good.  But, who was paying attention.? With six TVs who needs to pay attention to the guy singing in the corner.

Here’s a thought.  Don’t start walking across an intersection with your three small children right when the light going the other way turns green.  It’s amazing thing — two women and their kids did exactly that.  There are dueling columns in today’s Sacramento Bee about pedestrian and bicyclist deaths on Sacramento streets.  One of them suggests that our streets were never built with the safety of pedestrians/cyclists in mind.  No, actually, our streets weren’t constructed to protect stupid pedestrians/cyclists against themselves.  I bicycle city streets and rural roads.  I walk downtown streets every day during the week.  Other than a gravel truck on a narrow, two-lane rural road in Eastern Sacramento County that refused to move over an inch as it passed me, I’ve never had a problem.  There are two simple reasons.  I pay attention and I follow the rules, particularly if there is any moving vehicle anywhere in my vicinity.

I have a new favorite …

3 responses to “A Peek Inside

  1. Carrie Rubin May 12, 2013 at 3:20 pm

    My pet peeve is people who cross the street texting or talking on the phone, completely oblivious to the traffic around them. As for those moms you saw today crossing at the wrong time, what great role-modeling they provided for their kids…

    • kingmidget May 12, 2013 at 3:23 pm

      Yes, the cellphone thing is a major contributor to the problem. We hear about distracted drivers, what about distracted walkers?

  2. Kathy May 13, 2013 at 7:44 am

    I have no problem and feel no guilt at the grocery store when someone is walking into my path head down looking at their cell phone and I run into them with my cart. I’m not moving. I’m not stopping. I’m not jumping into a vegetable bin so we don’t collide. I walk straight into people who stop in a doorway to look at their phone, like that 5 minute transaction with the cashier netted them so many missed calls and texts. I keep going, If we collide it’s your fault not mine.

    I’m not that way with my car. But I’m not driving head on into another vehicle, either, so someone can ride their bike, “walk” their dog, and look at their cell phone at the same time. I think that person is playing with fire. I don’t want to hit anyone, I don’t want to hit an animal, but I’m not sacrificing my life for you, either.

    We don’t generally stay in restaurants that have TVs playing. We can watch TV at home. We can also go to a sports bar if that’s what we were out for.

Leave a Reply

