KingMidget's Ramblings

Pull up a chair. Let's talk.

Random Thought


Or, lurking in the recesses of my mind this afternoon was this … other vegans and vegetarians who don’t eat meat because they believe it’s unhealthy, in other words for those vegans and vegetarians who don’t consume meat because of the principle involved, do they have pets and, if they do, how does that make any sense?

 

8 responses to “Random Thought

  1. Faith April 9, 2013 at 5:39 am

    I don’t eat meat b/c I don’t like it, never have since a child, but I will/have eaten it if it is crumbled or shredded and sauced beyond recognition if that’s all there is, as in pulled bbq chicken or ground beef in chili. As a teen I just went veg all the way for a while, to be healthier than eating mashed potatoes and corn, hold the pork chop, not because meat is bad for you. You have to eat right as a veg to get all your nutrients. I learned to say I’m a vegetarian, but not because of ethical, moral, religious, social or health reasons. I just don’t like meat, and am pretty grossed out by it. Because your thought isn’t random–people ALWAYS want to know WHY. (I became a pescatarian, I love seafood. They say the wiring might have to do with the fact that the flesh doesn’t bleed. Indicating they are innervated differently and don’t have the same pain centers. The flesh part is possible, but I do feel fish are suffering on the line. Or lobster in the pot. However, I still eat. I just don’t look!)

    • kingmidget April 9, 2013 at 6:22 am

      See, I’m good with your approach. I can understand people just not liking meat or not eating it because they believe a meat-free diet is healthier. My question is posed at people who do it for the principle — animals raised for food suffer, it’s inhumane, etc. Well, shouldn’t pets be allowed to live as they would naturally if we hadn’t domesticated them? I know, I know… pets living in the comfort of our homes is slightly different than animals raised for slaughter, but…

  2. Faith April 9, 2013 at 9:11 am

    In Michael Pollan’s The Omnivore’s Dilemma, he also posits an animal that is humanely slaughtered by man for food likely dies a better death than one who is hunted and killed by an animal predator in the wild. I believed that when the coyote got the duck in the middle of the night in my nextdoor neighbor’s back yard. Horrible! He also brings up how chickens left to their own devices, for example, they might overrunn and overpopulate an area and not have enought to eat (or something similar)–say, like ferral cats. Not as comfy of a life as a free range farm protected chicken in a controlled environment. As a student and purveyor of nutrition and lifestyle wellness, I appreciate how we are so varied and highly evolved on the food chain, we can think about our food or potential food this much, have this many choices. If it’s a matter of “we don’t have a right to take an animal” for food, well, why a plant? It’s a living thing too. There’s research that shows plants might feel pain and share emotions. We can’t eat rocks…. I settle on treating our bodies, and therefore what we put into them, with a level of care and respect we feel naturally good about. So, for many, taking in a pet to save it from a perceivably worse fate isn’t quite the same as eating a cow that lived it’s life knee deep in poop and force fed gmo’d corn!

    • kingmidget April 9, 2013 at 6:28 pm

      Thank you for the incredible response. On some level, I’m not even sure how to respond, which suggests I shouldn’t. 🙂 But, I must. Sometimes I think of becoming a vegetarian, but based solely on health grounds. I don’t like the idea of cows or chickens raised for slaughter being treated inhumanely until the slaughter occurs, but the reality is, well, some things are just ugly, but they are a part of “us.” Our dependence on animals for food is one of those things. And, as you say, the existence of animals in “the wild” certainly isn’t all champagne and caviar.

  3. oliviaobryon April 9, 2013 at 6:34 pm

    Your question is interesting because for me the choice not to eat meat is multi-layered, (and, to be fair, I do eat a little meat, but avoid mammals and make sure everything is sourced). This began as a health choice when I cleaned out my diet to prepare for a raw/juice week. Afterward, I went back to my regular eating habits and felt terrible.

    So, I cut back again and told myself I’d only eat grass-fed/free-range/organic… Then the weirdest thing happened, I developed an actual aversion to meat the less I ate, (particularly to pork and beef). I walked around Whole Foods and could not bring myself to buy it at all… Even a grass-fed cheeseburger, one of my long-time favorites, no longer appealed to me, (a single bite grossed me out).

    My current approach is that if it doesn’t add to the enjoyment of my meal, I won’t eat it. I’ve found most vegetarian options to be equally pleasing. In terms of the difference between pets and eating meat, the more I love live animals, the less I want to eat them. Cats can leave anytime they want and dogs made the choice at some point in evolution to join forces with man to ensure easier meals. The goal of their species is survival and they found a damn good way to survive, (even if the separation of puppies from their families feels cruel).

    I am likely headed toward cutting out meat altogether, but I have no judgment of others eating it. I think we’re all built for different foods. My early childhood was spent as a vegetarian. By the time meat was offered to me, I had little interest in it. I just think the whole factory farm BS needs to change. It’s not good for people to eat sick animals, the pollution is terrible, and it bothers me how detached we are from the actual process of procuring our food. When I do eat meat, it’s with a great reverence for the life given in order to sustain me, as well as an awareness of where the meat came from.

    • kingmidget April 9, 2013 at 6:39 pm

      You know, I’m torn about this whole thing … for health reasons, I’d like to try vegetarianism, but it is a direction the complete opposite of how I have lived my entire life, and the rest of my family would definitely not go along. Can’t be too critical since I’m not sure how I would do without a good bacon cheeseburger or carne asada tacos. I also struggle with the whole factory farm issue as well, but then realize that regardless of what I think about my own dietary needs, there simply is no other realistic way to feed the world’s population. It seems to me one of those things that is, unfortunately, inevitable given the state of the human race.

      • oliviaobryon April 9, 2013 at 6:53 pm

        Social reasons definitely play a role in why I haven’t cut out meat altogether. If there isn’t a way to eat veggie at someone’s house or at a restaurant where food is being shared, I will eat a little or do my best to eat around it, (my husband ate half my plate of chicken at thai food last night for this very reason ;).

        But, I’m not convinced factory farms are necessary to feed the world. Most people could do with eating a little less meat, (read something earlier this week about how 1/4 lb of meat daily is connected to higher cancer rates), and it’s the meat of sick animals that make people sickest. I’ve watched some interesting documentaries that highlight some of these alternatives, (Forks Over Knives, Fat, Sick, Nearly Dead, Food Inc, Fresh, etc).

        Pretty sure Fresh argues it can work to feed large populations: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KwR44T69_Is

  4. rose April 10, 2013 at 2:41 am

    I agree with oliviaobryon above. We eat way too much meat – even the meateaters among us could do with a lot less, but eating meat is seen as a sign of prosperity and entitlement. Traditionally Asian cultures ate very little meat, so it’s clearly possible and quite healthy. As for pets, I don’t know – I see your point but I also think life for creatures in the wild can be much worse than as pets. When I have to buy meat, like for my pets or for my son, I buy organic, because it’s less cruel (though not cruelty free). If I could buy cruelty free, I would. Once we know what cruelty is, once we’re aware of it, it seems to me not tenable that we inflict it, whatever the rationale. But killing isn’t necessarily cruel, in my view.

Leave a Reply

