KingMidget's Ramblings

Pull up a chair. Let's talk.

Day #6: Be Not Scared


Okay, I’m jumping the gun a little early on this, but it’s necessary to make this poem work, plus I’ll be busy tomorrow, so … here’s day six, written and posted on day five.

mlk dream

Forty five years ago yesterday

A great man passed away

He spoke of the power of love

And the power of the man above

His beliefs should have kept fear at bay

His words should have killed hatred in a day

In a moment those thoughts of peace and love

Disappeared not destroyed by a bullet, but on the wings of a dove

For his death we will most likely continue to pay

Somewhere, some day maybe we’ll live up to what he had to say

13 responses to “Day #6: Be Not Scared

  1. ladysighs April 6, 2013 at 5:29 am

    Somewhere, some day maybe we’ll live up to what he had to say

    (Still waiting)
    I like your poem.

  2. Papizilla April 6, 2013 at 11:29 am

    Reblogged this on The Ranting Papizilla and commented:
    Well said, and a Poem A Day Challenge Participant! Show him love people!

  3. Sahm King April 6, 2013 at 4:24 pm

    Homage to Dr. King. Amen.

  4. Sahm King April 6, 2013 at 4:25 pm

    Reblogged this on The Arkside of Thought and commented:
    On point.

  5. Pingback: When Pisces Met Aquarius | The Arkside of Thought

  6. Pingback: Poem a Day Challenge #006: When Pisces Met Aquarius | We Drink Because We're Poets

  7. A2LSM April 7, 2013 at 2:13 am

    I have awarded you with the Liebster Award! Please check out my post to receive the award http://wrestling-life.com/2013/04/07/liebster-award/ This is a NO pressure nomination. You don’t have to do anything if you don’t want to. I just wanted you to know that I thoroughly enjoy reading your blog.

    • kingmidget April 7, 2013 at 7:34 am

      Thank you for enjoying my blog. Poetry isn’t what I normally do. So this week hasn’t been a typical week for me. Although, in some respects, the poems are just a different form of expressing what I typically express. I’ve responded to your award on my blog. Hopefully, I can continue keeping you entertained in the weeks and months ahead. 🙂

      • A2LSM April 7, 2013 at 3:23 pm

        Of course you will keep me entertained I like all of your writings not just the poetry. And with a blog named King Midget’s Ramblings what else could there be but entertainment! 🙂

  8. Pingback: Poem A Day Challenge #7 | The Ranting Papizilla

  9. Pingback: Poem A Day Challenge: Day #9 | We Drink Because We're Poets

Leave a Reply

