KingMidget's Ramblings

Pull up a chair. Let's talk.

Day 1: National Poetry Month


Non-poet that I am, I decided to rise, or sink, to the challenge of a poem a day for the month of April, aka NaPoMo.  So, here’s my first, inspired by two things.  First Sahm King, wrote this brilliant palindrome poem a few days ago.  Yesterday, while on my bike, I started working on my own palindrome poem.   I don’t think I’ll be challenging Mr. King any day soon in the annals of notable poetry.  🙂

IMG_0096[1]

Pedal

I push hard

A need for fitness

Running kills pain, Injuries and fatigue

Endorphins rush and calories burn, exercise and health

Sweat and stamina

Stamina and sweat

Health and exercise, burn calories and rush endorphins

Fatigue and injuries, pain kills running

Fitness for need

A hard push

I pedal

9 responses to “Day 1: National Poetry Month

  1. Julie Israel April 1, 2013 at 10:50 am

    This is really cool! I’ve seen palindromes plenty, but never a poem in palindrome form (and I’m surprised it reads so smoothly)! Truly, well done. This is an excellent kickoff to the month!

  2. Carrie Rubin April 1, 2013 at 12:20 pm

    A poem about fitness. Now that’s one I can get into. Well, minus the injuries and pain…

    • kingmidget April 1, 2013 at 5:15 pm

      Great thing about cycling … no pain and no recovery period. I’ve gone for 45-75 minute rides every day for the past five days. No aches, no pains. I never ran five days in a row.

  3. Papizilla April 1, 2013 at 6:07 pm

    I like it! Now I have to try out a palindrome.

  4. Papizilla April 1, 2013 at 6:09 pm

    Reblogged this on The Ranting Papizilla and commented:
    A Poem A Day Challenge Participant! Show him some love!

  5. Pingback: Poem A Day Challenge #001: the Essence | The Arkside of Thought

  6. Pingback: Poem a Day Challenge #001: the Essence | We Drink Because We're Poets

Leave a Reply

