KingMidget's Ramblings

Pull up a chair. Let's talk.

Song for the Day


For no other reason than this song just rocks.  Heard it on The Spectrum (a Sirius satellite radio channel) a few weeks ago and went to Spotify.  It wasn’t there!!!!!!!  Waited and waited and waited.  Tonight, on the drive home, I was listening to The Spectrum and thinking I needed to hear this song again.  Bazinga!!  Next song was this song.  Got home (went for a bike ride) and pulled up Spotify.  This artist is now up and available there.  The rest of his initial release?  Just as good.  Absolutely love this song and wonder how he produces that voice.

But before you get to the video, I wonder this.  The IPod and ITunes changed the way we listen to music.  Satellite Radio changed the radio industry.  Websites like Pandora and Spotify have changed how we can access music.  All of these tools have created what feels like an absolute explosion in the ability of musical artists to put their work out there and reach an audience.  I look at what’s on my Spotify playlist and see dozens of artists I would have never heard of but for satellite radio and Spotify.

Here’s what I wonder … is publishing moving there as well?  The growing popularity of e-readers and e-publishing is helping remove the stranglehold of agents and traditional publishers.  Are we going to see a corresponding growth in the voices that reach us in poetry, fiction and creative essays?  Here’s hoping.  It’s stunning to me what has happened in music lately and the breadth of what is available.  Publishing needs the same “blow the doors off” kind of impact.

6 responses to “Song for the Day

  1. Papizilla March 20, 2013 at 9:05 pm

    I am hoping that E-publishing is here to stay. When my writing is ready, that is how I plan on doing it. Self publishing. Why go the other route and give the control over to people who only see you as a number? It certainly worked for music, have been seeing a few more Indie films lately too, though the film industry could use an opening up too.

    • kingmidget March 21, 2013 at 6:37 am

      Having self-published a couple of books now, I’m still torn. There’s nothing that beats the marketing muscle of traditional publishers. If you self-publish, you’re going to have to do a lot more than just write the thing and throw it out there if you want anybody other than family and friends to buy and read. I’m still working on cracking “the code” that makes for a successful self-publisher, as I have another finished novel waiting, and four more in various stages.

      • Papizilla March 21, 2013 at 8:16 am

        If that god awful 50 Shades book can make it, then there is a market for atrociously poor prose(the market I’m shooting for! 😀 ) and above.

        Are your books on Kindle? I’ll have to peek around for them, I have noticed a lot of Kindle books are driven by price, unless you are Stephen King, JK Rowling or the Twilight lady. Then people will pay whatever you desire to charge. Otherwise it is the $.99 crowd.

        When I cruise the Kindle store looking for a new batch of books, I always snatch up the free ones first, then peruse the $.99 to see if anything grabs me.(I’m cheap.) I have a feeling there are a lot of people like me.

    • kingmidget March 21, 2013 at 7:33 pm

      I have two collections of short stories in the Kindle Store. .99 each. And a novel for 2.99. Feel free to provide me with honest feedback should you make a purchase. Just type in Mark Paxson at Amazon.com and you’ll find them.

      • Papizilla March 21, 2013 at 8:35 pm

        Snagged up both short story collections. Like I said, I am cheap… 😀 I will let you know.

      • kingmidget March 22, 2013 at 6:37 am

        The novel might be .99 pretty soon. I’ll be dropping the price, just not sure when.

Leave a Reply

