KingMidget's Ramblings

Pull up a chair. Let's talk.

The Inside of the Cup


OK.  It seemed like a great idea at the time.  As I wrote a couple of weeks ago, another blogger decided he was going to read every one of the books Publishers Weekly listed as the number one seller each year for the past 100 years.  Here’s the list.  Sounded great.  I decided to copy his idea.

I downloaded the first book to my Kindle.  The Inside of the Cup by Winston Churchill.  I wrote at the time that I never realized Winston Churchill had written a novel.  Well, turns out, it’s a different Winston Churchill.  As the blogger with the idea writes in his review of The Inside of the Cup, this Winston Churchill was at one time the editor of Cosmopolitan Magazine.  Yes, that magazine.

Cosmopolitan_cover_Lauren_Conrad

Something tells me that, way back in 1895 when Mr. Churchill edited the magazine, they wrote of different things.  I’m pretty certain there wasn’t an article titled “You on Top.”

But that’s just a diversion.  Don’t we all need a little diversion now and then.  VIRGINS IN COSMO!!!!!  OK, fine, enough of that.  Sheesh.

Time to get back to the point of this post.  Which is this.  I tried.  I really did try to read The Inside of the Cup.  I just couldn’t do it.

Here’s a pet peeve I have about certain books.  The opening pages introduce so many characters I have no idea who is who and what is what.  This book did that.  Ergh.  And as the story went along those characters continued to get thrown in and out of the story in a way that left me mystified as to who was who and what was what.

The thrust of the story is this:  you have an old-line Catholic parish, made up of the rich and powerful.  The church, however, is in the decaying part of the city.  The priest dies.  They recruit a well-considered priest from a smaller town.  He arrives and there are crises that come with him as his faith and that of his flock is challenged in different ways.  At least that’s what I think.  I didn’t get far enough to know exactly what happens once he arrives, for I could go no further.

It’s why I generally avoid reading books written too long ago — they just frequently seem to be written in a … oh, how do I say this … monumentally boring way?  Far too much of this and that, too jumbled up and … oh, hell, I don’t know.  I just couldn’t get through it.

So, now, it’s on to book #2 on the list.  The Eyes of the World by Harold Bell Wright.  Hopefully, 1914 was a better year for literature than 1913.  Good news. This is also free for the Kindle.

8 responses to “The Inside of the Cup

  1. oliviaobryon March 9, 2013 at 9:21 am

    Maybe going through the list will be a good exercising in abandoning books 😉 At least it might show you common threads in what people deem great!

  2. Jennifer Kennedy March 9, 2013 at 10:03 am

    Bestselling books rarely make good literature. Why not go with a list from NYT or Modern Library? There are some amaingly wonderful ‘old’ books. Some if the best writers never make it on bestseller lists because they just don’t have the volume to appeal to the mass market.

    • kingmidget March 9, 2013 at 12:13 pm

      I think that was one of the points of the guy who came up with the idea. What was popular not necessarily what was good. Two different things. Most of the bestsellers for the last 20 years were Grisham and King. Hardly literature

  3. Carrie Rubin March 9, 2013 at 10:09 am

    Well, at least you tried to read it. That’s more than I would do. 🙂

  4. Jane Gassner (@MidLifeBloggers) March 9, 2013 at 11:39 am

    How long ago is “too long ago”? And does that include, oh say one of them there 19th century fellows, like the one who wrote Moby Dick?

    • kingmidget March 9, 2013 at 12:11 pm

      As I have said frequently, I’ve had a real hard time with what is considered classic literature. Maybe I should give Moby Dick a try.

  5. Kathy March 12, 2013 at 11:49 am

    I have been re-reading classics. Some may not be classic in the true sense of its meanig,but to me they are. I have thoroughly enjoyed re-reading To Kill A Mockingbird, The Great Gatsby, Atlas Shrugged, The Fountainhead,and Bonfire of the Vanities. That’s all I can think of off the top of my head. There’s several more that are timeless to me, and at the various ages I read them, I identify with, or feel a bond with, different characters. I love reading! LOVE IT!

    • kingmidget March 12, 2013 at 6:06 pm

      To Kill A Mockingbird is a must re-read every now and then. I read The Great Gatsby for the first time a year or so ago. Don’t need to read it again. 🙂

Leave a Reply

