KingMidget's Ramblings

Pull up a chair. Let's talk.

Pizza Night


Are there two better words in the English language?  Well, other than hot sex?  I decided to try something.  Call it healthier eating.  Rather than making a couple of extra pizzas for my work-a-day lunches, I thought I’d make smaller calzones and combine them with a salad with homemade caesar.  So, there they are — the “smaller” calzones.  Can I tell you what’s in them?  Eh … probably not.  Each one was different.

IMG_2292

Here’s Queen Midget’s pizza for the evening.  A little olive oil and garlic.  Mozzarella and fontina.  Mushrooms.  Artichoke hearts.  Prosciutto and Pancetta.  And a very hot oven.

IMG_2293

And, here’s my Sunday night dinner.  A couple of years ago, my oldest went on a five week-trip.  A few days in Eastern Europe followed by four weeks in Israel.  He spent a couple of days in Prague and had what he swore was the best pizza he had ever had.  It was carbonara, which basically means bacon, parmesan, garlic, cream and egg.

For the first time, I tried it tonight.  Below is the one I made for myself.  Carbonara sauce — a little too liquidy, will have to work on that.  A little home made pizza sauce as well.  Mozzarella and fontina.  Sausage.  Prosciutto.  Pancetta.  Soppressata.  A dusting of parmesan.  The carbonara isn’t quite right, but, well, I love pizza.

IMG_2295

4 responses to “Pizza Night

  1. ManatheCat March 4, 2013 at 4:56 am

    This is the most beautiful blog post I’ve seen all week. I just gorged on a big lunch but this still looks so good.

  2. Carrie Rubin March 4, 2013 at 8:16 am

    That looks so much better than Papa John’s…

Leave a Reply

