KingMidget's Ramblings

Pull up a chair. Let's talk.

I’d Really Like to Know When It Ends


I have two of these creatures living in my house.  My dad calls them puberts.  Most of us know of them as teenagers, those charming human beings who lose all ability to think rationally, to consider consequences, and act in any way other than selfishly.  At the exact time we begin to give them more responsibility and expect them to start making smart decisions.  I mean, really, come on, we hand the keys to the car to sixteen year olds who can’t demonstrate the most basic concepts of common sense.  And expect good things to come of this.

For far too long the result has been this.

frustrated parent

Yeah, he’s got more hair up top and less out front, but I think you get the point.

I’m at my wit’s end.  I’ve been at my wit’s end for far too long now.  I knew the teen years would be difficult, but I never thought it would be this bad.  And I don’t know if I’m going to survive it.  Or, well, there is an alternative.

teenager ashes

That might lead to unfortunate outcomes, however.

man_in_prison

In other words, my only choice is to soldier on.  People who have been through this say that it will end.  That the little monsters occupying our teenagers’ bodies eventually vacate the premises and our teenagers return to the human race once again.  When you’re in the middle of it, though, it’s hard to see that outcome.  When you are confronted with the immaturity, irrationality, and irresponsibility … and MASSIVE SELFISHNESS of the teenage race over and over and over again on virtually a daily basis, it’s virtually impossible to imagine a way out.

My oldest son has afforded me the opportunity to receive a proverbial F%$#$ You from him on a regular basis.  No, he never says the words.  His actions though are much louder than any words could be.  It’s really hard to care at some point in the relentless war that rages.  And once you lose the ability to care, is it possible to get it back?  Even if it’s your son.

I only hope all of those who have come before me are right and we end up here.

path-to-beach

Instead of here.

road block

One response to “I’d Really Like to Know When It Ends

  1. Carrie Rubin February 23, 2013 at 8:00 am

    Ah, yes, teenagers. I think that’s nature’s way of protecting us from feeling too badly when our children finally fly the coop…

Leave a Reply

