KingMidget's Ramblings

Pull up a chair. Let's talk.

???


There’s this thing going on this week.  For the first time in fourteen months, I get home, have dinner, open the laptop, think about blogging, and … draw a blank.  There’s like this void in the blogging part of my brain.

It seems like everything I think of is something I’ve covered before.  So, why go there?  Why talk about what’s going on with Bridgeport? By the way, I’m somewhat baffled at the moment … several days with no sales, followed by a day with six sales, followed by a day with no sales.  And I’m wondering what’s gonna happen tomorrow.  [Edited to add:  I could also post something about how I’m somewhat disappointed that virtually all of the sales that have taken place in the last few weeks have been of the Kindle variety.  There’s something about the idea that people are not buying the paperback (even if I make more money on a download) that makes me feel like there’s something somehow less permanent about what people are purchasing.  It’s not tangible and real if it’s a download instead of a paperback.]  [Edited to add … again:  since I wrote this, twenty minutes ago, two people have purchased Bridgeport for the Kindle.  So, I guess it isn’t zero for today — I so wish I could figure out where and how these people come to my book.]

Why go back and talk about guns?  Again.  Why point out the latest example of the stupidity of the Republican Party?  Again.

I was driving home tonight and, via satellite radio, heard this incredible new song from Avett Brothers and thought I should post it as my song for the day.  Until I realized I had already taken care of that.  Seriously, I thought their song I and Love and You was pretty incredible, but February Seven my just be unstoppable and untoppable.  See what I did there?

I could tell you about the stereotype I wanted to share with you earlier this week, but then I posted about how I hate stereotypes.  As a result, I can’t share with you my theory that every driver you come across who acts as though they own the road will have a sticker on their car that shows they have a particular affinity for the NFL.

I could dance around this and that.  Throwing out hints about the issues and problems I face in my own life.

Oh, I could link to today’s groundbreaking thing that I learned via Andrew Sullivan.  You know, like one of last year’s Republican candidates for the Presidency coming out in favor of gay marriage with the most basic and simplest argument for such a thing.

I could do all of those things.  But I’ve done them before.  I’m in a rut.  Where and how do I come up with something new?  Got any ideas?  Suggestions?

3 responses to “???

  1. Carrie Rubin February 21, 2013 at 7:36 pm

    Well, for drawing a blank, you managed to come up with a pretty good blog post. 🙂

  2. Jane Gassner (@MidLifeBloggers) February 22, 2013 at 10:07 am

    Here’s how you know you’re a Real Writer: when you have nothing to say and you just noodle on the page and what happens is a fully-realized, tight, thoughtful post. Ummmm, sorta Seinfeldian, no?

    • kingmidget February 22, 2013 at 1:54 pm

      You may be on to something … not the talent thing, but that my post was somewhat Seinfeldian — a whole lot of words about a whole lot of nothing. Thanks!!!

Leave a Reply

