KingMidget's Ramblings

Pull up a chair. Let's talk.

Self-Publishers Beware


A warning for my blogging writer friends who are looking into self-publishing.

There are plenty of people out there who swear by some of the services these “publishers” offer — copyediting, professional cover design, etc.  But, make sure you do your research before you pick one of these companies.

I went with CreateSpace which is Amazon’s self-publishing arm.  There is absolutely no pressure to use any of their add-on services and the prices, if you choose to use them, seem reasonable.  It probably would have been a good idea for me to use a copy editor, but I didn’t considering how many people had reviewed the manuscript before I published it.  My sister designed the covers.

The one thing I’m really missing is a marketing plan and those kinds of efforts.  It appears, however, that some of these “publishers” don’t really have much marketing behind them either.

 

 

4 responses to “Self-Publishers Beware

  1. Carrie Rubin February 19, 2013 at 9:33 am

    Having a small press publisher does not guarantee a marketing plan, that’s for sure. And the other day, I read a blog post where an author who was traditionally published with a big publisher was getting little marketing help either. Sorry I don’t remember where I read it, so I don’t have the link, but it was depressing.

Leave a Reply

