KingMidget's Ramblings

Pull up a chair. Let's talk.

A Parallel Universe


I have this idea for a story, one of many that lurks in the corners of my writing brain.  It goes something like this.  I’m driving down the road and see a car that looks like mine.  As I pass it, I look in and see somebody driving it that looks exactly like me.  Wait a sec.  How can that be?  Somewhere along the way, my twin takes a different turn than me and disappears.

And, then, somebody tells me they saw me sitting in a cafe, drinking coffee with a woman most decidedly not my wife.  The woman not my wife isn’t unusual since most of my best friends are women.  No, what is weird is that I don’t drink coffee and have never been to the cafe I was observed at.

And so it goes.  There’s this other me living in a parallel universe or an alternate reality or living right there in the very world I live in but doing different things than me.

That’s as far as the idea goes, however.  I don’t know what to do with the rest of the story.

Truth be told, sometimes reality is stranger than fiction.  Warning, before you click on the link, this is politics.  Cheney needs to keep his mouth shut.  Let me see if I’ve got this right, the former Vice President, who was a lead figure in an administration that ignored all of the intelligence that pointed to an imminent attack in 2011, left us in the Afghanistan quagmire and failed to fulfill the mission there, led us into an unnecessary war in Iraq built around lies and mischaracterizations, cut taxes to historic lows leaving the Clinton surplus in tatters and our country on the verge of economic and financial collapse, who did nothing to help resolve the Israel-Palestinian collapse, nothing to solve the Iran problem, nothing to solve the North Korea problem.  Essentially, his administration for which most everybody understands he was the puppetmaster pulling GWBs strings on a lot of these things, left this country in the worst condition it has been in in decades.  And, he has the gall to criticize the Obama Administration.  The parallel universe conservatives live in these days is stunning, simply stunning.

Odd thing is that I seem to remember that there is a general idea that prior administrations don’t criticize their successors in this country.  Bush senior didn’t do it with Clinton.  I don’t recall Clinton criticizing Bush junior.  Bush junior, in fact, has pretty much dropped off the radar.  But, Dick Cheney, the evil wizard, the true angel of darkness, the curmudgeon who presided over eight years that we will be recovering from for years to come, has never stopped criticizing Obama.

Rant over.

4 responses to “A Parallel Universe

  1. Conversations With The Moon February 10, 2013 at 10:45 am

    You beat me to this post. It is exactly how I feel, only expressed much better…well done! Cheney and his ilk represent everything bad about this country IMHO…

    • kingmidget February 10, 2013 at 11:34 am

      True … would still like to see what you have to say and write about it. I wanted to keep it short and sweet. The highlights if you will of their eight years of failing.

      • Conversations With The Moon February 10, 2013 at 12:02 pm

        I’m knee deep in reading for school this weekend…my blog and writing need to take a back seat until I can settle into a study routine. The short version of my take is that Cheney et al’s lack of respect for the office they once held is symptomatic of what I see as latent racism at worst and simple institutional arrogance at best. Either way it’s not becoming of their former positions and serves to denigrate both themselves, the office, and our Executive Branch…

  2. http://google.com February 13, 2013 at 1:08 pm

    This is exactly the second posting, of yours I read
    through. However , I enjoy this specific 1, “A Parallel Universe KingMidget’s Ramblings” the most. Regards -Katia

Leave a Reply

