KingMidget's Ramblings

Pull up a chair. Let's talk.

A Blogging Award


I was nominated for one of those blogging awards again.  I generally ignore these but the individual who nominated me writes a blog that I have a tremendous amount of respect for.  As a result, I’m going to meet him halfway.  I’ll post my response here, but I won’t be spreading the nominations any further.

First, the 11 facts about me that I’m going to connect to the 11 facts he disclosed about himself:

1.  As a child I was terrified of the dark.  As an adult, I’m better about it, but not completely cured.

2.  I’m 48 and feel like I never really lived a wild and crazy youth.  I regret that.

3.  Touch my toes while standing?  Must do more yoga.

4.  I first grew facial hair when I was 20.  Shaved it all off for the first time a couple of months ago.  I had an afro until I was 20 and then got it cut and styled in a more appropriate way.  Ever since then my hair has gotten shorter and shorter.  I have said for a long time that I would shave my head before the bald spots connected.  A few years ago, I gave it a try.  Shaved it religiously for about four months and then got tired of the effort.  I’m in the midst of my second shaving spree.  This times, I’m not shaving every day.  More like every other day.  I’m also actually using a razor and shaving cream this time instead of an electric razor.

5.  I’ve never felt that chicks dig me.  I consider myself essentially clueless of the clues.  You interested in me, you better plan on slapping me upside the head.

6.  I’ve never played ice hockey, only being on ice skates once.  I prefer baseball, tennis, running and cycling.

7.  When I was 15, I was a shy, introverted, geeky high school who had no idea about the larger world.  Saving lives in South Central L.A. as a Fire Dept. Explorer at that age is pretty much the most incredible thing I could imagine.

8.  Cycling?  Do you mean a bicycle or motorcycle?  If the former, my father began bicycling when I was a young pup, a very young pup and then bicycled religiously for the next 40 years or so.  As a result, bicycling is something I have tried as well, but it’s never been something I’ve been able to regularly and consistently commit to over the long haul.  If it’s motorcycling you’re talking about, never been on one.  So, if it’s bicycling, how about I head on down to SoCal and we spin the wheels?

9.  I write, I blog, I make pizza, I share with friends, I love and live … therefore I am.

10.  I’m done with dogs.  At least the ones we have.  I’m ready for a lab that lolls around.

11.  Can’t respond to your 11th fact at the moment.  It opens a can of worms.

And here are my answers to your questions:What two books can you not live without?

Everything Matters and Lord of the Rings.

How old am I emotionally?

I think I’ve spent far too much of my life being an adult emotionally.  Age?  Older than the 48 years I am chronologically.  Do you know your suit/dress size?

Nope.

Can I tie a tie?

Unfortunately, yes.  My father taught me the more complicated way.  Is it the windsor know?  Not sure.  I look forward to the day I forget how.

Color eyes?

Brown

What is my favorite sport?

Spectator sport:  is and always will be baseball.

Sport to play:  if my body was up to it, tennis.  Sadly, my neck, my knees and my groin don’t allow for it.

Do I play any sports?

See prior answer for the list of injuries that prevent me from doing so these days.  One of the great disappointments and frustrations of my current existence.

If I could change careers, what would I do?

Write.  Write.  Write.

Do I have a college degree and if so, what level?

Law degree.

If I could own any car, what would it be?

One of the many things that make me unlike most men — I really don’t care about cars.  The main thing I want after driving automatics the last five or six years is to go back to a manual transmission.  I expect it to happen by this summer.

Who is my dream woman?

In the world of entertainment these days, Kaley Cuoco.

In the world in which I live, the dream woman my poem I wrote on February 6, 2013, is about.

2 responses to “A Blogging Award

  1. Conversations With The Moon February 7, 2013 at 9:47 pm

    Thanks KM for indulging me. After I nominated you, it became clear to me that these were the blog versions of chain letters, so to speak, so I really appreciate your indulgence and am humbled by your kind words. FYI, I too love Kaley Cuoco…in fact she’s from my town and I’m hoping to bump into her someday 😉

    • kingmidget February 8, 2013 at 6:21 am

      No worries. It’s the kind of thing where I don’t mind answering the questions, I just don’t participate in the chain aspect of it. Now that I know Ms. Cuoco is nearby, I think you are officially my first stop on my blogging world tour.

Leave a Reply

