KingMidget's Ramblings

Pull up a chair. Let's talk.

A Song For the Day


Six years ago, I saw this movie. It starred Adam Sandler in a most un-Sandler-like role. There are one or two scenes in it that brought me to the deepest anguish I have ever experienced watching a movie. It’s hard to imagine Sandler that way because so much of what he does is utter crap. But Reign Over Me was such an emotional, gut-wrenching movie, I’ve made a point of watching it every couple of years since. If you want to see a movie that brings you to the depths of despair, but provides you with a light at the end, you should see this movie.

The main song in the soundtrack is The Who’s Love Reign O’er Me. Ever since I heard that song in the movie, it’s been a part of my own soundtrack. Just an incredible, awesome, powerful song. It’s my song for today.

4 responses to “A Song For the Day

  1. Kathy January 25, 2013 at 7:31 am

    Thanks for the movie suggestion. I just watched the trailer. Adam Sandler is very talented. That being said, I don’t generally like his movies. I’m not a 12 year old boy. But I liked Mr. Deeds! And I recognize his talent. I don’t even remember this movie being advertised. So thank you. I think I’m just going to buy it. I’ll let you know what I think after I watch it.

  2. Kathy January 25, 2013 at 7:36 am

    I just ordered it. I liked “Just Go With It” also. So apparently I *watch* Adam Sandler movies more than I think!

  3. Anonymous January 25, 2013 at 12:04 pm

    I will look into the film as well. Also, Kevin and I are seeing The Who next week so now I hope they play that song.

  4. Kathy January 25, 2013 at 2:47 pm

    Anonymous, where are you seeing The Who?

Leave a Reply

