KingMidget's Ramblings

Pull up a chair. Let's talk.

The Good


First, great news to report about my friend, Jennifer, who I wrote about a few days ago.  Her polyp was determined to be precancerous, but because of the type of polyp it was, the doctor ordered a CT scan and recommended surgery to remove the portion of the colon where the polyp was located.  Yesterday, Jennifer had her CT and by the end of the day was told it was clear.  So, now all she needs to do is have the surgery (primarily to make sure it’s all out) and she’ll be good to go.

Second, I have the best kid in the world.  Eighteen months ago, I started the one and only running training program I’ve ever done.  After running three half marathons, training completely on my own, I decided to try a formal program to see what would happen.  It helped that the guy running it is somebody I’ve known since high school.

On the second training run, only about 4.5 miles, I was really struggling.  Which is weird since I was running that distance all the time.  Runners may be familiar with this feeling.  It was one of those runs where I felt like I was running into a headwind both ways.  It was just kind of sluggish.

After the turn to head back to the starting point, a guy started running with me.  We had done one of those … I pass him, he passes me, I pass him, he passes me on the run out.  At some point, we started running side by side and started talking.  In the next 15 minutes I learned he was a writer.  Hey, wow!  I learned that he had some work connections similar to mine.   I ended up running just about every training run for the next four months with Geoffrey.

We became friends in a very comfortable natural way.  It’s one of those friendships that just kind of falls in your lap.  After the half marathon — even on a sore groin, I beat him by three minutes  🙂 — we kept in touch.  He told me about a writing group he participated in, I started attending their sessions.  We got together for beers occasionally, shared our stories.

Geoffrey started out writing poetry, only recently turning to short stories.  And you could tell.  His stories flowed in a way that was so beautiful and natural.  His style is what inspired me to write Weed Therapy the way I am.  I don’t think I come close to his talent, but I’m working on it.

So … why do I have the best kid in the world?  Geoffrey emailed me yesterday to tell me that he and his girlfriend were really excited.  They had bought a house and would be moving today.  And, in his wry, sarcastic way he said that they were so excited about moving they were hoping I would help.

How could I pass up the opportunity to share in their excitement?  I said yes — and warned him I probably wouldn’t be much help with my sore groin, carpal tunnel syndrome and severe tennis elbow.

Later, on my way from work to poker, I was talking to the Missus Midget.  I mentioned to her that I would be helping Geoffrey move.  My 15-year-0ld son, who could have slept in today, could have been a bump on a log today, could have done just about anything else imaginable, overheard me and said, “I want to help.”  “You do,” I replied.  “Yes.”

So, I’m about to leave to go help a friend move and my 15-year-old son is sacrificing his hard-earned Saturday to do so as well.  It’s these little moments that give me such hope for the kid.

4 responses to “The Good

  1. Debra Kreps January 12, 2013 at 10:06 am

    That’s great news, on both counts! Hope the rest of your weekend keeps that momentum going.

    • kingmidget January 12, 2013 at 6:36 pm

      Thank you. Yesterday was definitely a good day and today, watching my son just dive into helping was even better.

  2. Deliberately Delicious January 12, 2013 at 5:50 pm

    I am so pleased to hear your friend’s good news! What a relief. And, yes, you do have an amazing son. It’s probably the excellent parenting he’s had 🙂

    • kingmidget January 12, 2013 at 6:39 pm

      Thanks DD. Although, when I look at my two boys and see how dramatically different they are in some pretty basic and fundamental ways, I wonder just how much impact we parents really have on some of the core traits our children grow up with.

Leave a Reply

