KingMidget's Ramblings

Pull up a chair. Let's talk.

Comfort Food


When I was a kid, macaroni and cheese didn’t come from a box.  Nor did it come in a casserole dish, baked to ooey, gooey goodness.  No, it was much more simple than that.  For years, it was one my favorite weekend meals.  It was this … some macaroni and some …

IMG_1509[1]

Yep.  Cheddar cheese.  And that’s it.  That’s about 2/3 of a lb of the stuff.  For a bit, my mom cooked the macaroni and then just put the cheese on top.  Well, that doesn’t work.  The cheese doesn’t melt.  No, you must mix the cheese with the macaroni, to produce this.

IMG_1510[1]

A plate of luscious goodness.  As with all things, my kids are different on this.  One prefers the Kraft … well, I just have to say it … crap.  The other prefers “daddys’ macaroni.”  Comfort food for lunch today.

6 responses to “Comfort Food

  1. Kathy December 28, 2012 at 12:02 am

    Oprah had a mac and cheese recipe that’ll kill you but you’ll die happy. I think it had 4 or 5 different cheeses in it. It was a baked ooey gooey wonderful concoction. If I’m not going to make it myself (which is a white sauce with a ton of cheddar, mix and eat), then I like Stouffer’s.

Leave a Reply

