KingMidget's Ramblings

Pull up a chair. Let's talk.

The Room


It’s been out there for quite awhile, published more than two years ago.  I kept reading about it, thinking that I would read at some point.  Thanks to an acquaintance, The Room by Emma Donoghue has been sitting in our house for the last couple of months.  I finally picked it up this week, compelled by a need to read something that was real and not on my Kindle.

For those who don’t know, the story is not an easy one to read.  It’s about a woman, kidnapped at the age of 19 and locked away by her captor.  She gives birth to a boy, who, at the age of five is the narrator of the story.  I’ll leave it at that as I don’t want to spoil any more details for anybody who has yet to read it and might.

I struggled with the book through the first 80 pages or so, primarily because of how the five-year-old “spoke” as the narrator.  Something clicked yesterday, however.  In 24 hours I made it through the final 200+ pages.  It became one of those “I can’t put this down” books.  It’s worth the time.

One response to “The Room

  1. kristentarzwell December 16, 2012 at 8:11 am

    I loved this book, pretty sure I inhaled it when it first came out! I’m super glad there are others out there who like it as well!

Leave a Reply

