KingMidget's Ramblings

Pull up a chair. Let's talk.

Day #15: Food


What was the most extraordinary dish you sampled in 2012? What made it so magical? 

It needn’t be the most extravagant dish, just the one that knocked your socks off with its flavour, texture, aroma, freshness, colour, significance, timing… whatever. Relive the magic and help us savour it with you here.

Hmmm … I think I’ve got two for this.  One is that I learned to love Masullo’s.  It’s a neighborhood pizza place, except that it produces pizza that are much more traditionally Italian than us Americans are used to.  When it first opened a few years ago.  I wasn’t impressed.  I consider myself a pizza minimalist — a combination pizza, piled high with six different toppings, is not my idea of pizza.  But, Masullo’s was the minimalist of minimalist pizzas.  I wasn’t so sure of the place.

In the last year, I’ve spent more time there.  Plenty of evenings where I have some time to spare and I need a place to go, I’ve ended up at Masullo’s.  The owner is the son of a former reporter for the Sacramento Bee.  The reporter is retired and he comes in on busy nights to help out.  It’s also home of Sacramento’s best server.  It can be difficult to describe great service, but Andrea provides it.  He has never disappointed when I’ve been there.  Stopping to talk, sharing a bit of himself, as well as showing interest in his customers.

So, what has hit home for me there … the Triana, dried chorizo, garlic, and chili oil.  The Elisa.  The 3 Meats.  The Elisa.  The Sausage.  Somewhere along the way, I had an egg added to one of those, don’t remember which.  But, well, I haven’t been disappointed at Masulllo’s for some time.  As with most great food, it’s not just about the food, it’s about the environment and the experience.  Masullo’s has provided all of those things for me in 2012.

The other dish I thought of in response to this question was one I made.  We had friends over a few months ago.  I made ricotta gnocchi.  With three different sauces.  Pesto creamy gorgonzola, and red.  I made enough gnocchi to fill a large plate with the three sauces to look like the Italian flag.  🙂  I’m pretty sure there was a homemade pizza before and caesar salad with as well.  It was a pretty good meal.

 

One response to “Day #15: Food

  1. Pingback: Not Your Mother’s Caesar Salad « KingMidget's Ramblings

Leave a Reply

