KingMidget's Ramblings

Pull up a chair. Let's talk.

ABNA 2013


A few years ago, Amazon began what it calls the Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award — an opportunity for writers everywhere to submit a manuscript for publication.  Every year, I find out about it at the last minute and ask myself “should I?”  I lose track of these things, all of the opportunities that are out there.  I believe I submitted One Night in Bridgeport for consideration a couple of years ago.  A last minute submission.

This year is different.  Thanks to Olivia O’Bryon, I have more than a month’s advance notice.  Which is exactly what I need.  I’ve been sitting on Weed Therapy for the past couple of months, trying to figure out how to get it out in the world better than I did with Bridgeport.  ABNA 2013 may be the twist.  Chances of winning?  Slim to none.  But, at least it’s motivation to get the final patch of editing done.

Sometimes I need a deadline to get something done.  That may just be why I’m so un-motivated these days.  No deadlines.  Nothing really near completion.  Half-completed novels that are still far from complete.  Weed Therapy is different.  It’s complete.  I have a deadline.

I’ll be submitting Weed Therapy to ABNA 2013.  I may be posting my pitch and synopsis here for your feedback.

5 responses to “ABNA 2013

  1. oliviaobryon December 11, 2012 at 2:20 am

    I see it the same way– a fun deadline, even if the odds are slim. Glad it was a good reminder! 🙂

Leave a Reply

