KingMidget's Ramblings

Pull up a chair. Let's talk.

Day #3: What I Wish For?


Living life on a transplant waiting list gives you lots of reasons to reflect on what you’ve achieved in your life, and what you wish for the future.

Imagine a scenario where you only had one year left to live. What is one thing that you really wish to do that you just haven’t had the chance to accomplish yet?

I would like to add: what steps could you take (however small) to ensure that you accomplish this thing in 2013?

Well … I’ll take the middle paragraph as my guide.  If I had one year left to live, what is the one thing I really wish to do?  I don’t like the way that paragraph ends with the word “accomplish.”  If I had only one year left to live, it wouldn’t be about an accomplishment, it would be about how I would live that final year.

Here’s the challenge:  the thing I most want to do would take me away from the circle of friends and family who mean the most to me.  That thing would be to spend my final year living on the coast of Oregon.  In a little hut, within view and walking distance of the ocean, with a pizza oven, and an endless supply of beer.  But, I have no friends or family (my circle) there and I couldn’t imagine living my final year without them.

How to bring those two things together?  There is the mystery of the one year left to live question.  Spend it with the people who mean the most to me or spend it where I most want to be.  I know this, if I only had one year left to live, if I knew now that December 31, 2013, would be my last day on earth, I would be incredibly unhappy if I lived that final year where I am now.

 

7 responses to “Day #3: What I Wish For?

  1. Debra December 3, 2012 at 2:48 am

    Hey now, you’re working ahead!

    I had the same thoughts as you did. But, then I figured if it was my year and if I really could have my wish, then everything I wanted could fall into place. But, you’ll read my answer to this prompt tomorrow…

    • kingmidget December 3, 2012 at 3:34 am

      I wrote this a few hours ago, taking advantage of WordPress’s feature where I can schedule the time it is posted … and also taking advantage of the fact that the clock for my blog is magically seven hours ahead of me. 🙂
      As for what you may be posting … I thought about the “everything I wanted could fall into place” option. The money to do what I wanted, the opportunity to have the people with me I wanted, doing the things I really wanted to do. I felt like that was stretching it. It seems to me it had to be reachable and not fantastic.
      One of the other options I considered was to spend that year going on my world blogger tour.

  2. Jess December 3, 2012 at 8:16 am

    I found your blog on the reverb link list. I had the same thought when I saw todays prompt, i instantly thought of travelling but that would take me away from those I love. So I figured I’d focus my year on making memories for those around me.

  3. ~ Car ~ December 3, 2012 at 8:49 am

    I too have blog hopped over from the reverb link list. If I only had one year left, I’d like to think that those who love me & I love would follow to where I most want to be.

    • kingmidget December 4, 2012 at 2:12 am

      Agreed … problem is whether the financial resources are available for that. In responding to the prompt, I didn’t necessarily assume that I could have whatever I wanted — that, on some level, my current circumstances applied.

  4. butimbeautiful December 7, 2012 at 10:09 am

    Maybe your family would go there, if it was your last year ever. Then you could combine the two. It must be a lovely place. If I had one year..I don’t know, I suppose I’d stay where i am, probably, since my kids are here, and I’d write and write and write. Probably. Yesterday I had thoughts about cancer and thought ‘what if’…I was quite uneasy!

    • kingmidget December 7, 2012 at 2:43 pm

      Oddly, if I only had a year left, I think I’d stop writing. I don’t think there’d be a purpose to it anymore. If I did write, it would be stuff only for me. And maybe a blog about that last year. But writing stories would probably end.
      And, yes, pondering the possibility is quite scary.

Leave a Reply

