KingMidget's Ramblings

Pull up a chair. Let's talk.

Day #1: How Are You Starting?


Courtesy of I Saw You Dancing, I now know I’ll have a topic for each day to close out 2012.  Day #1:

How are you starting this last month of 2012?

Take a moment, close your eyes, take a deep breath and ask yourself the question: how do you feel…

… in your body? in your mind? in your day job? in your creative life? in your heart?

It’s a post-NaNoWriMo world and I’m writing now.  Working on The Irrepairable Past today, with an outline for the remainder of the story.  Something I have not had in the past.  I fully expect to write a couple thousand words on the thing today.

I’m also undergoing an effort to address some of the things that bedevil me — at home, at work, in my life.  Some of those efforts will be external, but most will be internal.  I am reading Mindfulness Yoga, will soon begin Rod Stryker’s The Four Desires, and am exploring ways to achieve inner peace for the first time in a loooong time.  The things that bedevil me will always be there, the question is whether I allow them to control me.

I’ve tried reading things like these books in the past, but I don’t think I was entirely open to them.  It’s time for me to figure out some of the mysteries of my life.  Olivia O’Bryon wrote about the difference between becoming and being.  It does a good job of describing my dilemma.  I’ve spent most of my life becoming something.  It’s time for me to stop trying to become something and be.

Debra Kreps writes that she is starting this final month of December 2012 by gathering roses.  I don’t think I’m ready to gather roses yet.  I first need to figure out how to find and then see them.

3 responses to “Day #1: How Are You Starting?

  1. oliviaobryon December 2, 2012 at 9:37 pm

    Hope you find some helpful wisdom in Mindfulness Yoga! If nothing else, it offers some good routines for home practice. 🙂

    • kingmidget December 2, 2012 at 9:39 pm

      Thank you for mentioning it on your blog, providing me with the push to purchase the book.

      • oliviaobryon December 4, 2012 at 3:46 am

        I’m glad it resonated– I’ll be curious to hear what you think. Lately I’ve had less patience to wade through it, but I’m still using the routines for my home practice and trying to read little bits here and there to absorb. If only there were more time in the day… 🙂

Leave a Reply

