KingMidget's Ramblings

Pull up a chair. Let's talk.

My Semi-Regular Writing Whine


It’s weird, I went bowling with Guest Blogger on Friday.  Afterwards we talked over pizza and beer.  It was, as always with him, a deep, all-encompassing conversation.  We spoke about writing some, including The Irrepairable Past.  I drove home thinking about the story, I went for a walk yesterday andbrainstormed about the story.  I came up with some ideas to move the story along.  Ideas I really like and want to see what will happen them.

I also had an epiphany about the screenplay for The Marfa Lights.  Which means there are changes to be made to the script.  None of them insurmountable.  I could crank through the edits in a few hours and be done with it.

Why then do I feel so incredibly un-motivated.  I had time to write yesterday.  Got nothing done.  Had time to write today.  Got nothing done.

There’s something missing at the moment.  The mental energy.  The emotional commitment.  Something.  All I know is that the switch seems to be turned off at the moment and I need to figure out how to get it turned back on.

 

5 responses to “My Semi-Regular Writing Whine

  1. oliviaobryon November 27, 2012 at 4:00 am

    Clearly I gave up on writing anywhere other than WordPress tonight. 🙂 I know exactly what you mean. I have no lack of ideas for my book, just time… And motivation/priorities…

    • kingmidget November 27, 2012 at 4:54 am

      Our mutual whine through posts and blogs compelled me to spend the last hour working on The Irrepairable Past. Read through the last 7,000 words, did some editing and added about 500 words. Trying to stay motivated for tomorrow.

      • oliviaobryon November 28, 2012 at 2:18 am

        Nice work! I ate dinner and read a book. No writing done yesterday… Beside the blog. This quest for balance thing feels like a lot less writing. Maybe tonight I’ll get something done… 😀

      • kingmidget November 28, 2012 at 4:41 am

        NaNo helped me write chapter 3 of The Irrepairable Past. I shared it with somebody today, a friend who believes I’m on to something. He absolutely loves the first two chapters. Late in the afternoon, he paid a visit to my office and told me chapter 3 was just as good as the first two chapters. We talked through what is coming and he was equally encouraging. It really helped spike my motivation to keep going. So, now I sit on WordPress and FB at the same time and am not writing. 🙂

      • oliviaobryon November 29, 2012 at 2:42 am

        That’s awesome! May it motivate you to finish quickly 😀

Leave a Reply

