KingMidget's Ramblings

Pull up a chair. Let's talk.

A Blogger World Tour


It’s been a little over a year since I started this blogging in earnest.  Unlike my previous failed efforts that ended up with rare posts, few readers, and a quiet end, this time it seems to have stuck.  There are a few reasons for it.  One of those is that, for the first time, I have become part of a larger community.  Add to the list of things I wish I could do some day … going on a blogging world tour.  A trip where I could meet, have a beer, and spend a few hours with some of my favorite bloggers.  So, there are all of these blogging awards out there that are really the blogging equivalent of chain letters.  I won’t do that to you.  Instead, I’ll just list you here, maybe embarrass you a bit, and then move on.

Any blogging tour has to start with Jane at Midlife Bloggers.  Almost two years ago, I wanted to publish a little piece of creative non-fiction I had written.  She gracefully accepted it for her blog.  Then, a young man I knew was killed in an auto accident and I felt the need to write something about it.  Jane suggested Elk Grove Patch.  The published the piece and I’ve blogged there occasionally ever since.  So, Jane, you got me started, you should be my first visit.  Unfortunately, you just re-located to Los Angeles, and there’s a blogger closer to home who I’ll stop in to see first.

Olivia OBryon is a local girl, teaching, writing, and experiencing life here in Sacramento.  One of the other posts I want to write some day is about how there are certain bloggers who just hit me right where I am far too many times for me to understand how it can be.  Olivia is one of those bloggers.  She writes about writing and her search for happiness, fulfillment, and answers to life’s mysteries.  She’s clearly devoted and intelligent.  So, my trip starts with meeting Olivia and her husband somewhere nearby.  Maybe Masullo’s where she won’t get a pizza hangover.

Then, it’s on to SoCal and a stop with Jane in her new home, where we’ll vent about the stupidity of the Republican Party.

My next stop would have to be Debra Kreps.  I found Debra via Jane’s Blog Roll way back when — well a long time ago.  Her blog was filled with beautiful photography and essays about life.  It’s a simple and elegant blog, which I’m betting is what Debra would be like.  Reading Debra’s blog is frequently like reading what I want my blog to be.  I wouldn’t mind meeting Debra, having some of her Midwest vegan food (just once) and maybe going on a photo safari in her neck of the woods.

My next stop isn’t with a blogger, but instead to stop and see an internet friend I made over the last few months.  I’ll call him Sullivan Bay Bob to protect his identity in case he doesn’t want to be known around these parts.  He’s a regular over at Toasted Cheese, where he wrote the line that inspired me to begin what is becoming The Irrepairable Past.  In recent months, I’ve shared a manuscript with Bob and he’s shared a manuscript with me as well.  We’ve developed a very cool, long distance friendship and writing support group.  He lives on a bay, where he gets to watch birds mate, herons feed, and flowers bloom.  He has a porch that I’d like to sit on.  I’ve heard he makes homemade pizza every weekend — I’m down for that.  A pizza challenge on the shore of his bay, with beer in the fridge.

From the bay I’ll head back to the Midwest, where Carrie Rubin awaits.  She’s another writer.  She’s sarcastic, funny, and, well, I want her to make me laugh.

Then comes the Canadian leg of my trip.  First stop, Trent Lewin.  We have a Star Wars vs. Lord of the Rings dust-up to settle.  (No, Mr. Lewin, I have not forgotten.)

Second stop, a woman who is Deliberately Delicious.  Here’s what she’s about:  Collector of sand dollars. Adventurer. Writer. Weather girl. Back up singer in a little black dress. Dancer. Poet. Soccer mom. Bond girl. Teacher. Diva. Walker of beaches. Seeker of truth and all things delicious in life.  Works for me.

See, maybe you’re catching the theme here.  There’s this theory out there that to have a successful blog, you have to find a niche and stick to it.  I can’t imagine anything more boring than that.  There are far too many things to write about, to think about, to discuss that I could stick to one topic or niche.  Almost everybody on my blogging world tour have shown the way it can be done.  They write poetry and fiction.  They shout to the skies every now and then.  They express their political views, usually in a reasonably respectful way.  My blogging world tour is filled with people who are, well like me, somewhat eclectic and searching for answers to life’s riddles.

Deliberately Delicious is dangerously close to Theryn, who has the distinction of being my favorite moderator/editor/person in charge at Toasted Cheese.  She has written a haiku every single day this year.  Stunning.  It’s time to meet her.  She makes homemade pizza, too.  There’s another pizza challenge.

Before I leave the continent, there’s one more mystery stop.  This man talks with the moon.  I have become more and more intrigued by his blog as the weeks have gone on.

North America complete, it’s time to head across the Pacific, with a couple of stops to make.  First is Rose, another eclectic writer and thinker.  She has two blogs.  An Etiquette Guide for SlutsBut I’m Beautiful.  Based solely on the names, it’s worth a visit, don’t you think.  But, actually, she writes some of the wittiest things I see on my blog roll.

Once my visit with Rose is over, I’ll head over for a few beers with PDubyah.  He writes a lot about beer, with an occasional post about family.  He also is responsible for my new favorite word … mandreaming.  Which, when you think about it, this entire post is one big mandream.

Before I leave the Australia/New Zealand area, I’ll get to visit the Wolf family.  They’re not bloggers, but they sent their son to America a couple of years ago.  He spent a couple of weeks with us.  His father and I bonded in the run-up to his son’s arrival, during his stay, and ever since via email and pictures.  He … has … an … outdoor pizza oven.  My last and final pizza challenge on my world tour.

Better yet, I think we should all meet there and make pizza, eat said pizza, drink beer (or not for those who don’t), and talk and laugh until the wee hours.  There’s the challenge though … most writers are introverts.  Maybe we’ll just sit around quietly and play with the labels on our beer bottles.

Thank you to my blogging community for reading my stuff and offering your own words as well.  It’s been a wonderful ride for the last year.  Hopefully, we’ll all still be here for another year or more.

8 responses to “A Blogger World Tour

  1. Carrie Rubin November 26, 2012 at 2:04 am

    Loved your blog world tour, and I’m honored to be on it. Thanks so much for the mention. And best of all, thanks for not passing on a blogger award… 😉

  2. Trent Lewin November 26, 2012 at 2:27 am

    Happy to host you! Anytime. Looking forward to the revenge of the hobbits.

  3. Conversations With The Moon November 26, 2012 at 2:46 am

    When you visit Jane in her new home, give me a ring…I’m in So Cal too. Great post…very heartwarming. You’re welcome in my neck of the woods anytime!

  4. Deliberately Delicious November 26, 2012 at 3:57 pm

    What a great idea for a post, and a fabulous idea for celebrating a year of blogging. Congratulations to you!

    Rose would definitely be on my list too. And I’m with you about the eclectic writers. They’re my favourites too. With that in mind, I’m off to visit some of the people you’ve recommended here.

  5. Debra November 27, 2012 at 1:08 am

    I look forward to your visit. Thanks for the kind words and for thinking of me.

Leave a Reply

