KingMidget's Ramblings

Pull up a chair. Let's talk.

November 20, 2012


This woke me up this morning…

 

Stay in the shallow

Or immerse in the deep end

Your choice, only yours

 

 

 

Remember that first time you dove into a pool.  OK, maybe not.  For most adults it probably happened decades ago.  Not so for me.  As a child, I was terrified of diving into a pool.  Living a fearful life, I refused to, even in all of the swimming lessons I took.  Didn’t dive in until seven or eight years ago after we got a pool in our backyard.  It’s amazing how idiotic fears like that can hold us back, keep our feet on the ground.  And how liberating overcoming those fears can be.

Like my recent trip to Disneyland when I finally overcame my fear of the roller coasters.  I had the absolute best time ever once I did that.

It’s the same in life and in relationships.  Take the plunge.  Dive deep and come back to the surface, screaming the words you have, expressing the feelings you feel.  The good, the bad, and the ugly.  Lay it all out and see what happens.  Don’t live shallowly.  Live and love and share deeply.  Of yourself.  And of others.

Or as Rob Thomas might say ….

2 responses to “November 20, 2012

  1. Lakin Konieczny November 20, 2012 at 9:05 pm

    Deep post (not intended as a pun). And you are too right. Most of us don’t realize that the only thing really holding us back is ourselves. Once we overcome our fears we can see ourselves for who we really are and do so much more with our lives.
    I look forward to reading more from you in the future.

    • kingmidget November 21, 2012 at 3:24 am

      Thank you. I’ve got three more stacked up, ready to go in the next few days and am thinking about whether there are more.

Leave a Reply

