KingMidget's Ramblings

Pull up a chair. Let's talk.

Bond. James Bond.


Saw my first James Bond movie today.  Yes, I’ve never seen one before.  Not on TV, not in the theater, not on video, not on Netflix.  Never.  I also have never seen a Star Trek movie and have never watched E.T.  So there.

Skyfall is definitely a thrill ride of a movie, but, well … here’s my complaint.  And, hopefully this won’t ruin it for anybody.  (Stop reading if you’re concerned about that.)  Why did the villain have to be a whacko with a mommy issue?  I always thought the villains in James Bond were like espionage, dominate the world bad guys.  You know, using people and countries as pawns in their desire for absolute power.  Well, that wasn’t the case here.  My kids compared the villain to the Joker.  It’s not quite right, but close enough.  I don’t know maybe I should watch another 007 movie or two to see what they’re like.

There’s also the whole suspending disbelief required for a movie like this, too.  Shot in the chest, keep fighting for the next five minutes on a moving train as it goes in and out of two tunnels, only to get shot again by a high-powered sniper’s rifle, plunging you into a river far below.  And, lo and behold, you survive … without any explanation at all.  Yes, and maybe you’ll win the lottery tomorrow as well.

I’m all for some escapist fun, but, I don’t know.  I’m not sure I’ve missed anything by not seeing a Bond movie until now.
Oh, one more thing … Adele sings the song.  Just based on her voice, I’d marry her.  Stunning.

5 responses to “Bond. James Bond.

  1. Trent Lewin November 19, 2012 at 2:34 am

    Watch Goldfinger and Goldeneye. Also The Spy Who Loved Me.

  2. Carrie Rubin November 19, 2012 at 3:36 pm

    I loved the movie (after I suspended my belief, of course). Daniel Craig is my favorite Bond since Sean Connery, and I thought Javier Bardem as the villain was brilliant. But I agree with your kids–there were parallels to the Joker.

    • kingmidget November 20, 2012 at 2:10 am

      The female co-worker who saw it last week and recommended it acknowledged to me that she could watch Daniel Craig hang laundry and be fine with it. OK, that’s modifying her words slightly, but apparently, Mr. Craig is eye candy for a portion of the female audience. And, yes, Javier Bardem does evil incredibly well. The scene where he makes his entrance is classic, but, for me, it all unraveled when it became clear what his issue was.

  3. Deliberately Delicious November 26, 2012 at 2:43 am

    Get out! I think you must be the only man in North America who’s never seen James Bond. I haven’t seen it, but I wouldn’t mind. That Daniel Craig is lovely to look at….

Leave a Reply

